The Pre-Weekend Long Run

Posted on September 28, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Even though I feel like my sinuses are attacking me right now, I can go into the weekend feeling great because I accomplished all of my training runs this week – including my long run! I had 7 miles on the plan for Saturday morning and knowing I was going to be out of town, I decided to change up my schedule for the week. My co-worker Meredith, who is running Marine Corps in 4 weeks ran with me – she puts 20 mile runs to shame – and she had 8 miles on her plan so I figured, if she’s willing to run with me, I’m not going to ditch her the last mile.

We started out fast. I mean who doesn’t start out fast when they’re running with someone? But we eventually hit a groove and we took a short break at mile 4 to hydrate and pep ourselves up for the 4 miles back home (and by home, I mean work). Even though we were still a few blocks from the office, the moment we hit 8 miles we both immediately stopped and I really appreciated that. We had just killed a huge hill and were pushing to the end. We both agreed the first couple of miles were though but we eventually got into a good groove and helped each other stay at a faster pace than we would have while running alone.

Our splits were all over the place but we mostly stayed in the 9:45 – 10:15 range. Garmin pic below.

It felt so great to be running with someone and I was definitely pushing myself harder than I normally do. I hope we can do some more runs together (her training plan is tapering down just as mine is ramping up but it’s still around the same mileage). I haven’t run more than 6 miles since the Cherry Blossom Race in the spring so this 8 felt good for sure. Naturally we hammed it up once we were back in the (creepily dark) office.

Running Rockstar Meredith

Weird me. I’m already chugging down some Nuun here!

Even though it’s Friday, I feel like I’ve already accomplished my SIDI for the week:

Monday – Step or Zumba – semi-step success!
Tuesday – 3 mile run + Body Pump – success (well I did SELF strength instead of Body Pump)
Wednesday – Spin – did not happen
Thursday – 4 mile run + strength training – successful 8 mile run, no strength training
Friday – 7 mile run – successful 3 miles
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – Rest

So I didn’t make it to spin on Wed. I was just exhausted and really needed to clean my apartment. Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. My long run ended up being last night and this morning I had a really slow 3 mile run on the treadmill at the gym. I knocked off a mile because I added one last night – that makes sense, right? 🙂 I was so pooped after my run this morning that I actually came home and laid back down again. Big mistake but hey, it’s Friday.

Emmy’s Fashion Friday post coming later this afternoon.

Stephanie

Wednesday’s workout: None
Wednesday’s meals highlights: Eh
Thursday’s workout: 8 mile run
Thursday’s meals highlight: Pizza for lunch
Friday’s workout: 3 mile run
Friday’s meals highlight: Not sure yet, it definitely wasn’t this morning’s oatmeal
 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

