Totally Tuesday

Posted on September 25, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

The YMCA is such a funny place sometimes. Last night I ran to step (which apparently actually starts at 6:35pm instead of 6:45pm, which is what I thought) and there was no instructor. We got word that the usual instructor was sick and had found a replacement but the replacement flaked. A bunch of women called it quits and put their steps away but 5 of us stayed and did our own class (sound familiar?). We hooked up an iPod and just worked it for 40 minutes. It was actually the birthday of the girl who “taught” class and she said she needed to work off her birthday cake from earlier in the day. The Y ended up sending up a trainer who was going to run us through some circuit work but when he came in and saw us working away he just let us be.

I could have done something else and waited it out for Zumba at 7:30pm but I loved the idea of a few of us just throwing our own workout together. I was definitely sweating by the end and really impressed with the girl who “taught.” It’s not easy to throw a step routine together on the spot! She certainly looked like she was having a blast though. Hmm, maybe this is another sign I should just train to be a fitness instructor already…Don’t get me wrong, I love the Y, but I feel like there will be more circumstances like this one moving forward and you know what, I’m OK with it. I community atmosphere and willingness of the other members to work it out no matter what, makes it worth it to me.

In other workout news, I finally remembered to bring in that SELF workout I did twice last week. I think I’m going to do it again tonight because I didn’t wake up to run this morning and will miss Body Pump tonight to do my run. I have to remember that I can get strength-training in on my own and that it doesn’t have to be from a class (though I do LOVE Body Pump a lot). The workout from SELF is a combination of strength moves and bursts of cardio. I only did the strength moves after my run but the cardio moves look pretty good too. Check it out below:

Ok, so you’re looking at the images with the girl wearing the purple tank top labeled firm on the side (sorry for the crap images). The moves that really kicked my butt were the rear raiser, twisting toner, and bottoms up. I luckily own a set of 2lb and 3lb weight at home so I was able to use them for this workout.  Give it a go after some cardio one day and see how you feel. It’s a great way to get in some strength training at home and I’m sure you could used water bottles or shampoo if you don’t have weights at home. I just got my new SELF magazine in the mail last night and will have to see what workout they have this month and if it’s share-worthy 🙂

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: 40 minute step class
Monday’s meals highlight: Roti Falafel Salad for lunch

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

