more work travel

Posted on September 17, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend I had to travel for work once again, but it’s unfair to say that it was an intense work trip.  In fact, it was a really nice, relaxing work weekend in Kiawah, SC.

I did borrow the dress from my sister and it was perfect for the occasion.

And then someone told me later that night my hair looked very Kate Middleton-like.  I don’t think it’s true, but I still tried to photograph it to document the compliment.

The food all weekend was amazing and included some tasty salads, some incredible pimento cheese and aged cheddar cheese dips, an amazing coconut custard pie bite and an entire pig.

I did manage to eek out 7 miles on Saturday morning.  There are some lovely biking and walking trails that go through the neighborhoods and past marshy lands. I kept seeing the signs “DANGER ALLIGATORS” and kept thinking to myself, what do I do if I come across an alligator.  I never really came up with a suitable plan during those 7 miles. I hoped that my scream would have been heard/maybe scare the alligator away…?  Luckily, I never had to employ any scare tactic during the run.   Justin was less than amused that I had no plan to escape the alligators, I was just determined to get the run done!

After my run, I refueled with chocolate milk from the little ice cream shop at the resort called “Beaches n’ Cream” and headed out to spend the rest of the day on the beach.  The weather was perfect, probably 80 and sunny – with a slight breeze and the water was perfectly warm.

I had to peel  myself off the beach chair at 5 pm to get ready for dinner for the evening, but was so happy I got to spend one day on the beach this summer!

I attempted a short run on Sunday morning on the beach while it wasn’t too hot or sunny, but quickly gave up once I realized my legs had enough the day before.   Here are some photos of the beach in the am.  So pretty and peaceful!

Today starts week 4 of half marathon training.  I’m feeling good about upping my mileage by one each week, I think I might take today off and rest my legs one more day.  I’ll stick to my diesel class at Crunch tomorrow and then try another tempo run on Wednesday – probably outside this time.

When I was leaving Kiawah on Sunday, there was a triathlon taking place.  All the cars had to dodge the bikers, which made it a challenge for both parties.  I have to admit, I was happy I was not out there.  I love triathlons, I think they are so much fun, but I realized yesterday that the bike is the most annoying part and usually have very little desire to go for a bike ride these days.   I have a new appreciation for running and have always loved swimming – so I think for now I’ll stick to those two sports.

Addy

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

