Some Things

Posted on September 12, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

1. I have a confession. I missed my September race. For some reason September has turned into a really crazy month and I only had 1 free weekend to do a race and it was this past weekend. I had signed up for the Arlington 9/11 Memorial 5k (as if I don’t already feel bad enough) for Saturday evening at 6pm. Well. I slept through it. I completely underestimated how tired I was going to be after my work trip and I just didn’t have the energy to make it to that race. My understanding is that there was also a tornado at that time (again, I slept through it) but it looks like the race still happened. I’m not going to lie, I’m super bummed I missed out on a September race. I’m still trying to see if I can figure something out but it’s not looking good. Oh well, on to October!

2. Speaking of October, I just registered for my October race…the Marine Corps Marathon 10k! I ran this race a few years ago and really loved it and I’m excited to be running it again. It’s the last 6.2 miles of the MCM course and the crowds are already out there so there is plenty of energy. It’s relatively flat except for that killer hill at the end but thank goddess I’ll only be running 6 miles before it instead of 26. I’m happy to have my October race on the books.

3. I never really did a recap of the August Salad A Day Challenge. I actually did come out on top, eating more salads than not. It did give me a chance to really focus on adding in a salad every day and I enjoyed the new Safeway Cafe Bowls that were recommended by a friend. The biggest challenge was eating salads on the weekends, which is understandable as weekends feel like a time to splurge. I’m going to try my best to keep eating salads a lot more frequently than I used to and to be more conscious of eating salads on the weekends. In fact, I’m just realizing now that I had a salad for dinner on Monday and one for lunch yesterday. The more greens the better!

Oh look, a salad! And some other Tuesday eats.

4.  Do you see the tofu up in that picture? Tofu and my kitchen are now friends. I managed to make some edible tofu on Monday. I used extra-firm tofu that I pressed and then just threw the slices in a pan with some Earth Balance and let them brown on each side. They were tasty! Tofu success! I can officially say I have made my peace with tofu.

5. I am in desperate need of new running sneakers and have been scouring the web to find the ones I currently have in my size. I just love them so much. I know I will find them eventually. I’m sure eBay will pull through for me as it usually does. I refuse to go try on new types of shoes when I love my current ones so much. Is that weird?

6. I’m heading home to go wedding dress shopping with my sister this weekend. I am BEYOND excited!

7. The cooler weather this week is making me very excited for fall. I can’t wait for jeans, sweaters and boots. And for football jersey’s and Sundays filled with beer and snacks. And for RUNNING. If there is anything I learned this past summer it was that I do not enjoy training for a race in the summer. I think I’ll enjoy training for this half a lot more with the cooler weather.

8. Mindy Kaling is the best. Seriously.

9. My co-worker Yates gave me some Teeny Potatoes from Trader Joe’s on Monday. I went home to make potatoes a la Yates. They were delicious (and adorable, I have to say)! I boiled them until they were semi-soft, then threw them on a cookie sheet and “smashed” them with a coffee mug. I then coated them with olive oil and S&P and baked them for 30 minutes at 350. I managed to eat half of the potatoes on Monday and demolished the rest last night.

Cutest potatoes I’ve ever seen.

10. I am going to see Newsies on Broadway with my Mom during one of my two trips home in September. I haven’t seen a show on Broadway in forever and can’t wait. Nothing compares to Broadway for theater. Nothing.

Stephanie

MY “SIDI” has completely gone out the window but hey at least I’m still getting in some workouts…

Monday’s meals highlight: The Teeny Potatoes a la Yates

Monday’s workout: 60 minute walk

Tuesday’s meals highlight: Big salad for lunch with my successful tofu

Tuesday’s workout: 2 mile run (another confession, this run was done on the treadmill post-weight lifting , blah) + Body Pump

Wednesday’s workout: Spin – Long Ride (1 hour, 15 minutes)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

