Life After the Triathlon

Posted on August 15, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Life, now that the triathlon is over, requires a list.

1. I had two slices of pizza Monday from We the Pizza and they were insanely delicious.

2. I ate an entire box of Honey Nut Cheerios in the last 24 hours. Who knew that was my post-workout food of choice? I do now.

3. I have discovered PicMonkey courtesy of Julie and will be using it a lot. I mean A LOT. So get ready.

4. First use of PicMonkey is below…

5. Addy gave me a bag full of Peanut Butter Snickers, Starbursts and sparkly blue nail polish pre-race. She clearly knows the key to my heart.

6. I have races lined up for September and November but I still need October and December races. Any suggestions?

7. I start training for the Philly Half Marathon on September 10. I chose a 10 week plan from Women’s Health that has me running 3x a week. While most training plans would have me running 4x a week, I think running one day less will work for me. I’m pretty burnt out from training right now and this will be more reasonable for me, the girl who doesn’t really like to run. I also want to get back into strength training and give myself some time to enjoy classes like Zumba and step. And of course, I don’t want to throw my swimming and biking completely out the window. This fall it will be all about mixing it up. The next four weeks will be about doing whatever I want at the gym and then when I start half marathon training on September 10, I will focus on doing cardio 4x/week and strength training 3x/week. Let’s do this!

8. I fell off the salad bandwagon AGAIN this weekend and missed the leafy greens on Friday, Saturday, Sunday….and (eek!) Monday. I hopped back on last night with a random leafy assortment from Whole Foods (I forgot a picture, of course). I also stocked up for the week so I can stay on track. I’m determined to get my salads in this weekend.

9. Tonight I will be baking a “gender reveal” cake for a co-workers baby shower tomorrow. She’s going to the doctor today and then will tell me the gender and I’ll either bake a pink cake or a blue cake. I have the ingredients all ready to go and I’m excited to decorate it but I do feel pressure to make a perfectly hued cake. Wish me luck, I need it.

I’m hoping it will turn out something like this:

10. I rested on Monday, was out sick yesterday and am still feeling under the weather today. I had hoped to get back to the gym tonight but I fear my sinuses might explode. Why do we always want to exercise when we can’t?

Hope everyone is having a great week!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

