The Hunt for the Perfect Gym Bag and Other Things

Posted on August 10, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

So, I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect gym bag this week and I have to say, my hunt has been very unsuccessful. I’ve been scouring the internet, I went to Athleta, Lululemon and CitySports last night and still have not found anything I like. One saleswoman in Athleta asked me what I was looking for and I paused. I actually don’t really know! I keep finding what I’m not looking for but can’t seem to nail down the criteria I AM looking for. Crazy, I know.

The only bag I’ve seen that I actually seem to like and looks to be the right size is on eBay and would need to be shipped from Italy. Um, no. I’m hoping to continue the hunt this weekend and will find the perfect gym bag to schlep around.

Life is tough, right?

In other news, the triathlon is this weekend. Gah! I seriously haven’t been so nervous about anything in a really long time. I feel unprepared, I feel like I didn’t train enough, I just feel so damn blah. I know that’s not really a good attitude to have going into a race and I’m planning on doing everything I can to brighten up in the next two days. Luckily, some good friends of mine are also doing the race and they are triathlon all-stars so it will be great to be with them. We’re all bunking together on Saturday night in exciting Perryville, MD and will be carb-loading together that night as well 🙂

I have been trying to visualize myself swimming in the open water. It will be my first open-water race and while I consider the swim my strongest leg, I am definitely feeling some open-water nerves. I’m hoping the in-water start isn’t too wild and that I can just focus on my stroke and take my time. I think once I get in a groove I’ll be fine. And for the bike, Addy reminded me that it’s a great place to pull off a bit if necessary to catch my breath and get my thoughts together. I’m excited to be on my OWN road bike for the first time in a race and just hope I don’t have a pedal issue and fall off the bike…fingers crossed!

The run will definitely be my biggest challenge as I’ll be very tired and it will be the hottest point of the race and from what I’ve heard, it’s and out and back run that involves a hill. Awesome. But if I have to walk, I have to walk. And I am going to take my time making sure I get in all the hydration and nutrition I need so I am strong coming over that finish line.

Yes, the finish line. I can’t wait!

Completing an Olympic triathlon was the first thing on my to-do list for this year and while I am not as energized as I thought I would be about it, I am excited to cross it off my list as a life accomplishment. I hope the weather stays a bit cooler on Sunday and that everyone has a great race (including those in the NYC Ironman!!).

Hope everyone has a good weekend. Until the race recap…

Stephanie

P.S. I totally started in on the carbs last night – my weird version of buffalo chicken macaroni and cheese.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

