Weak Weekend

Posted on August 6, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend was not the best but it did have some shining moments that included dinner with my Grandma on Saturday night and a really fun brunch on Sunday morning. However, I missed two bike rides and failed to have a salad on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Hence feeling like this weekend was weak. But today is a new day and instead of resting tonight I am planning on making it to spin to work my butt off and maybe, sorta, kinda make up for the fact that I totally blew off my bike training over the weekend. I know I’ll feel great after spin and I stocked up on salads for the week at the grocery store yesterday. I’m getting back up on that horse.

My Grandma and I tried a new restaurant in McLean, VA called Bistro Vivant. It sure was delicious! And Addy hosted the most wonderful brunch on Sunday filled with delicious food, drink and wonderful company. I failed to take one photo which just added to my weakness this weekend. My favorite snack was the prosciutto, fig and brie on bread. It was such a great mix of flavors!

I also had a great run on Saturday, which feels like new territory for me. I busted out 6 miles on Saturday morning and while it was still pretty hot out, I felt strong throughout. I came home and did some foam rolling and hydrating while watching Serena win the gold. I ran at a steady pace and snacked on some Honey Stingers at mile 4 which I really felt like gave me the last energy spurt for the final two miles (which were uphill!). I need to remember how important nutrition is during the race on Sunday and I plan to eat some Honey Stingers during the bike and the run.

It’s the final week before the triathlon and I have four workouts to power through before two days of rest before the big day. I am determined to complete each workout so I can go into race day feeling the best that I can. Right now the weather looks great – 85, party cloudy with a 20% chance of rain. I’ll take it! Let’s hope the weather holds out and doesn’t turn into a scorcher. I’m making sure I have all my gear and everything I’ll need this week so I’m race ready for Sunday.

You know what wasn’t weak? Michael Phelps finishing his Olympic career with another gold medal in the medley relay. I was totally emotional watching his race. I am so happy for all he’s done for the sport of swimming and for the US. Thank you, Michael!

Happy New Day Monday!

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Laundry?
Friday’s meals highlight: None
Saturday’s workout: 6 mile run + 1250 meter swim
Saturday’s meals highlight: Steak, blue cheese mashed potatoes and asparagus at Bistro Vivant
Sunday’s workout: Drinking mimosas at brunch 🙂
Sunday’s meals highlight: Brunch at Addy & Justin’s!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Weak Weekend”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Yay! Good luck this weekend!! I’m so proud of you!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

