Tears of Joy, Tears of Sadness

Posted on August 1, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

The Olympics have been on for five days and I have subsequently sobbed with both tears of joy and tears of sadness each day.   I can’t help myself.  Between the amazing races, touching back stories and simply the athletes entering the stadium at the Opening Ceremony, I cannot get enough.  It’s incredible to see these stars with huge grins and nothing but pride on their faces representing their country!

In addition to loving the Olympics because of all my patriotic pride, it is no surprise, that Olympic swimming is my all time fave.   The tears of sadness have come with some of Michael Phelps losses, but the tears of joy have also come from his incredible attitude about these Olympics and about being the most winning Olympic athlete of all time!

The USA women’s swim team has really been strong this year and so fun to watch. Dana Vollmer was so strong in the 100 fly and watching Missy Franklin win her first individual event in the 100 back was incredible.  Some of my other faves, Allison Schmitt soaring to gold last night in the 200 free and Rebecca Soni in the 100 breast with a silver – she’s the captain of the team and seems to have this great calming presence, but at the same time is so badass with her swimming!  Can’t wait to see her tomorrow night in the 200 breast!

I’m already getting sad that the swimming will be over soon, but then at least I can probably have my life back and actually get some sleep again!

I’m so glad Stephanie reminded me that the August salad challenge started today.  I was in the process of eating my lunch and snapped a picture of it before I finished it.

Highlights of this salad included the salsa you can see in the little container – a co-worker had that leftover from one of my favorite taco places so I added it to the quinoa in my salad and it made it SO tasty!   Look forward to continuing the challenge for the next 31 days.

Speaking of veggies, I was in PA this weekend and my parents have a thriving back yard garden.  They gave us theses monstrous zucchini.   Can’t wait to attempt zucchini bread for the first time!   They have so much zucchini and other produce that they’ve been supplying the mail man with the goods.  Unfortunately for him, I won out on Saturday and he got nothing.

Also, August is a special month because it is Justin’s birthday month!   I think I love Justin’s birthday (month) a little more than he does, so I might be the only one celebrating right now!

In more August news, the Jennings family is coming to town today and we are so excited to have them and see baby Josie all grown up – well just a few more months grown up, but still!

I’ll leave you with this picture, my co-workers indulged me in some USA pride last Friday for the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics!

 

And then we attempted the Olympic rings.

Go USA!

Addy

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Tears of Joy, Tears of Sadness”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Addy! I would recognize that Taqueria Nacional green salsa anywhere. At least I hope I’m right 🙂

Love all your swimming coverage but what about the Fab Five?? I was brought to tears last night watching them win. I can’t get enough!

Remy, you are 100% correct on Taqueria, nice one! And, I completely neglected to talk about the amazing ladies gymnastics team, I too also cried. I’ll admit, I’m often blinded by all the swimming!

OMG! I love your Olympic spirit, wish I could watch with you!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

