Olympic Fever

Posted on July 30, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’m not gonna lie, I spent a good portion of my weekend watching the Olympics. I managed to watch women’s beach volleyball, swimming, gymnastics (both men and women), women’s synchronized diving, table tennis, basketball, tennis and field hockey. I know, right? I swear I left the house too!

I trekked across the river to a birthday party in Arlington on Friday night, ran a rough 6 miles on Saturday, walked through the Dupont Farmer’s market, met a friend for breakfast early Sunday, then went for a crappy 12 mile bike ride and even hit the pool for some laps, Missy Franklin-style.

My run on Saturday was ugly. I did not wake up early enough and got caught in the heat. I needed more than my one water bottle of water and I should have brought some nutrition with me. I ran 3.5 miles, walked half a mile and then ran the last 2 miles. I’m still glad I got it done though, as the triathlon is only two weeks away. My bike ride was off to a good start on Sunday as I started on my second lap around Haines Point. But then I noticed that my right shoe felt kind of weird so I pulled over to take a look and my right cleat was dangling off. I had lost one of the screws and couldn’t clip back in. I cut the ride short and made my way back home with only the left pedal clipped in.

It was really…annoying!

I need to figure out how to get my cleat fixed tonight so I can get some good rides in this week. I took a short break when I got home and cooled off and then went to the pool for some laps. Swimming on Sunday afternoon is fantastic because the pool was practically empty and I only had to share my lane with one other person. Luxurious! I was feeling sluggish but swam 1200 meters and called it a day. I’m looking forward to my rest day tonight which will include some wonderful foam rolling and stretching.

Dupont Farmer’s Market

Haine’s Point

Taking a break after realizing my right cleat was broken.

I’ve totally been loving the swimming and gymnastics but I have to say, I totally loved watching the women’s USA field hockey team play Germany. While they ended up losing 2-1 (which means they don’t get any points toward their total), it was still a great match. The US team really came out of the half with great energy and were so close to tying up the game many times. The US team is young but so physically fit and they have great stick skills. I’m really hoping to watch more of their games. The best part was realizing that two of the player’s on the team are the younger sisters of my friend Sarah! Check them out:

I ended the weekend with some delicious Sweetgreen. Have you tried their new cold pressed juices? The one I had was pretty tasty though such a pricey treat at $6 a bottle.

I’m excited for more Olympic action tonight. My heart totally broke for Jordyn Wieber last night but it’s exciting for Aly Raisman to be it all-around competition. I was also disappointed with Ryan Lochte’s anchor swim in the men’s 4X100meter freestyle relay. I thought Nathan Adrian, Phelps and Cullen Jones all had fantastic legs – but hey, a silver medal is still a medal! Here’s hoping Missy Franklin can win a gold tonight 🙂

GO USA!

Stephanie

Saturday’s workout: 6 mile run
Saturday’s meals highlights: None
Sunday’s workout: 12 bike ride + 1200 meter swim
Sunday’s meals highlights: Sweetgreen for dinner

P.S. Did you see my guest post on PBFingers last week? Check it out here!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

