Catching Up

Posted on July 12, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Well, hello! What a week and a half it’s been since my last post. I’ve been running around like a crazy person. So what’s been happening?

The 4th of July!

My night may have ended with fireworks and started out with excitement but it also included a very rough bike ride. I slept in on the 4th, because honestly, when do I ever get to do that? Plus, I had enjoyed a very lively evening out with friends on Tuesday night.

Shortly after waking up, my sister called to tell me that she was engaged! I actually knew it was happening but that doesn’t make it any less exciting. I spent a good portion of my day texting with her and checking her Facebook page 🙂

I then decided to venture out for a bike ride with my new pedals. I had been warned that I would most likely fall my first time using them…and oh boy did I fall. THREE TIMES. And like, BIG FALLS. The first one was the first time I got clipped in right in front of my apartment. Splat! I have to say this was the scariest fall because I didn’t know what it felt like to fall off a bike while still attached to it. It’s not a good feeling, my friends. I managed to make it to Haines Point but the stop and go was pretty tricky. I had a good loop around and decided to head back because it was so hot out. I was stopped by a police officer at the last minute to go through security and I had a really bad fall in front of him. He threw his hand up to flag me last minute and I just crashed. It was a pretty hard fall and a family ran over to me to help out while the officer did nothing. I ended up with a HUGE bruise on my hip and a bruise on my hand (when I did make it home, I iced both of those areas because I was in so much pain).

After making it through security I was hot, sweaty, a little teary-eyed and hurting and was determined to just make it home. I of course fell one more time at a light and was so angry! I actually got up and kicked my bike. Sorry, Fuji! A nice woman with a cane came over and asked if I needed any help. At least there are some good people out there! I finally made it home and while I knew the bruises would heal, my ego was pretty busted and it took me almost a full week to get back on my bike for another ride.

Yay, clip in pedals?

Anyway, I ended my 4th enjoying some fireworks on a rooftop. Perfection.

I then made the trip down to Williamsburg with some friends for a wedding. Our trip included a nice walking tour of Williamsburg, a delicious sandwich at the famed Cheese Shop, a sweaty ceremony and dancing ALL NIGHT LONG.

Delicious sandwich from The Cheese Shop

It looks like we’re not sweating but we are. A lot.

Gorgeous Kathleen

Married!

Summer of the huge bun has commenced.

I have been trying to catch up on laundry and workouts this week before heading to Seattle tomorrow. I actually moved up my training schedule for the week and didn’t have my usual rest day on Monday (I mean I did have 4 rest days in a row…whoops). So far I’ve done every one of my workouts this week and I am feeling really good. I’ll miss one run and one bike ride over the weekend so that means I’ll miss 2 out of 8 workouts for the week. That works for me for being out of town for 4 days. I’m ready to get into a good schedule that includes weekend workouts when I’m back in town next week. No more travel until late-August! Hello, D.C., I’m here and ready to enjoy a sweaty summer with you at last.

Stephanie

Workout summary only, I can’t remember all these meals!

Tuesday’s workout: 4 mile run + 1500 meter swim
Wednesday’s workout: 10 mile bike ride with 3 falls
Thursday’s workout: None
Friday’s workout: None
Saturday’s workout: None
Sunday’s workout: None
Monday’s workout: 5 mile run
Tuesday’s workout: 10 mile bike ride in the crazy downpour
Wednesday’s workout: 4 mile run + 1000 meter swim

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

