A New Car and other things

Posted on July 3, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

We bought a new (to us) car last week.   The night we looked at it, we made the decision that we were going to get it.  In my head, I kept hearing the words “A NEW CAR” in the voice of the announcer for The Price is Right. As I write this post, that voice is so fresh in my mind!

Here is our new lovely car.

That is the only picture I have right now – this is the parking lot of dealership where we got it.  We’ve been enjoying the car for the last week and both excited for our first road trip!

We did have to say goodbye to Justin’s old car and we were definitely both sad, this is the last photo I snapped of her before we transferred the plates.

Her name is Delilah

The swimming Olympic Trials are over and it was a whirlwind of excitement for me.  I’m so excited for the U.S. Swimming Olympic Team, in fact in true stalker fashion, I wish I could just follow their stories/training for the next three weeks before London!   I am incredibly bummed for Dara Torres.  She was fourth in the 50 free and unable to qualify for the Olympic team – she did her post race interview holding her 6 year old daughter who also looked incredibly bummed.  A truly remarkable effort by Dara Torres and all the swimmers for the past week.  Bring on London!

I think I’ve mentioned before, Justin has a bit of a green thumb and has been gardening up a storm on our lovely terrace.  We’ve got carrots, brussel sprouts, peppers, lettuce, onions, cucumbers and squash.  Here is Justin modeling his mustard greens and regular leafy greens.

And the leafy greens on their own.

Every July 4 I have the desire to make gazpacho and this year is no different.  We are heading to my sister’s house for dinner tomorrow (she has power again, woot!).  I think I will make it tomorrow (after we go to the Nationals game) and while you usually can’t go wrong mixing all the ingredients together, I somehow always manage to add too much garlic or too much of something else. I hope to please my toughest and sweetest critic, my 6 year old nephew.

Happy 4th!!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

