Posted on June 25, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Is it Monday already?! Oh man, what a weekend! Where do I even begin?

My drive up to NJ on Thursday was smooth sailing. There really is a huge difference between traveling on a Thursday versus a Friday in the summer time. So much less traffic!

Oh hello, gorgeous.

After settling in and walking on the beach for a bit, I suited up for my run and ended up doing a very slow 3 miles on the boardwalk. It was toasty out there and while there was a small breeze from the ocean coming through it was still a very hot run.

I look a little pained here…

But I finished the run and felt great afterwards! Plus, I figure with all the heat it was great training for the August tri.

Red faced but happy!

I managed to squeeze in some good beach time on Friday morning before heading off to being wedding festivities. It was so nice to relax on the beach and was hot enough for me to plunge into the ocean for a quick dip. Love it!

The rehearsal dinner was right on the beach and the perfect way to kick-off the weekend.

Me and the bride 🙂

The rest of the weekend was literally a whirlwind of drinks, food, nail appointments, hair appointments, make up, dresses and pictures. The weather was beautiful and luckily it cooled down a bit on Saturday after raining on Friday night.

Haute couture pose – so SJP.

My sister was also at her best friend’s wedding this past weekend so we sent each other picture’s of ourselves all dolled up. Yes, we do things like that!

Enjoying some “Call Me Maybe” and champagne on the trolley.

Loved the neckline of my dress!

Some of the highlights of the night for me were the appetizers at the cocktail hour – fried artichokes, raw bar, mini sliders, etc. – it was all so delicious – and the couple’s first dance which honestly made me more emotional than the actual wedding ceremony. Their interaction during the dance was just so sweet and it was a great moment. We spent out evening getting down with the band and sending the couple off (well down the beach and back) with sparklers. It was really just the perfect night and I was so happy to see my friend so beautiful and so excited.

Post-wedding hair…when I finally took out the bobby pins my hair was still crazy. I think there was hairspray, gel, powder and just about anything else you can think of in it to give it volume and make it stay all day.

Even though I spent the majority of the weekend bridesmaiding, I also fit in two bike workouts (Friday and Sunday). I did miss my long run on Saturday but I did get in 7/8 workouts for the week and feel good about them. I’m looking forward to kicking off week 5 tonight. I am shifting some workouts around this week but plan to get all of them in. 7 weeks to go!

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: 10 mile bike ride
Friday’s meals highlights: Meg’s homemade pasta salad
Saturday’s workout: Dancing at the wedding 🙂
Saturday’s meals highlight: Raw bar and appetizers at the cocktail hour
Sunday’s workout: 12 mile bike ride
Sunday’s meals highlights: Mixed green salad with cherry tomatoes, roasted garlic and blue cheese

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

