Under the Weather

Posted on June 13, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I am feeling under the weather this week and it’s really bumming me out. After an awesome weekend filled with family and friends, I am majorly struggling this week. I’ve been resting a lot lately, which means I’ve been missing a lot of my training workouts which just puts me in a bad mood mentally. I missed both bike workouts last week and so far this week I’ve missed my Tuesday swim/run workout. I doubt I’ll do my bike workout today…I really think I need one more good night of rest before getting back on track. It’s frustrating to miss workouts and makes me feel “behind” in my training. I don’t really have a lot of time to train for this race and with my weekends filled with weddings and other plans, I really need to be better about focusing on training during the week. But as frustrating as it is to miss workouts, I definitely need to listen to my body and make sure I’m well-rested and healthy. Here’s hoping I can get back to it tomorrow.

After battling a ton of traffic on Friday, I finally made it home to NJ 🙂

Look at those smoke-stacks. Home sweet home!

My Mom had to run some errands and attend a meeting so we didn’t make it to Zumba and instead went to grab some dinner at SmashBurger. I had the Baja Burger which among other things was loaded with guacamole. You had me at avocado, SmashBurger. After dinner I went to visit some family and was asked to be the Godmother to my newest cousin, which is quite possibly some of the greatest news I’ve received in awhile. I’m so excited for the honor!

Look at that sneaky smile! Who wouldn’t want to be her godmother?

On Saturday, I attended the wedding of a good friend (who actually lives down here now as well) and it was such a fantastic night. The wedding took place in a small church in our town and after the ceremony we all followed a bagpiper down the street to her parents house where the reception was being held. The front yard was perfect for cocktails and appetizers and they had set up a tent in the backyard for dinner and dancing. It was just SO. MUCH. FUN. There is just no other way to describe it. The bride and groom were ecstatic and it was so great to catch up with all of my friends from home. They certainly know how to have a good time 🙂

The bride and groom!

Oh, I almost forgot, before the wedding, I squeezed in my triathlon workout and got in a nice 3 mile run in the morning. It was pretty humid out there and I got into a nice groove and felt like I could have done more than 3 but there was place to go and people to see!

Did you know that I love sweat?

On Sunday, I was able to see even more family and then had a traffic-free ride back to D.C. After catching up with a friend who was passing through town for dinner at Bistro du Coin (hello french onion soup!), I hit up the grocery store and tried to get my act together for the week. Weekend trips out of town can be fun but sometimes it’s hard to get back on track with the weekly routine.

I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday. My Dad is coming to town this weekend so we can watch the Yankees beat the Nationals and hit up the driving range. I also have a good friend coming into town for a wedding and we are running a 5k together on Saturday morning (hello, June race!). It’s funny to think that I would have been doing my triathlon on Sunday if the DC Tri had not been canceled. Seeing as how I feel awful this week, maybe it’s a sign that race wasn’t the one for me. Who knows!

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Rest
Friday’s meals highlight: SmashBurger with Mom
Saturday’s workout: 3 mile run
Saturday’s meals highlight: Wedding food!
Sunday’s workout: Rest
Sunday’s meals highlight: Dinner at Bistro du Coin
Monday’s workout: Rest
Monday’s meals highlight: Eh
Tuesday’s workout: Rest
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Soup

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

