National Running Day

Posted on June 6, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I did not know today was National Running Day until I started reading every.single.blog this morning, but I appreciated the day nonetheless.  In fact I am actually very close to being done reading Born to Run and love it.

I don’t have a desire to do an ultra, heck, right now I’m not even sure I will ever do a full marathon. I absolutely had a blast with the half marathon both with the actual race AND the training.  I want to try to do another one sometime this year hopefully in November or December.   Born to Run does make it possible to believe that you really can do anything that you prepare for and

That’s why it is so fun to recognize National Running Day for the very first time in my life, because I can fully identify as a runner. I run, because I can, because it clears my mind, because it makes a bad day good, because I always feel like I accomplished something after a run. I run because it is a challenge, because I can feel myself improving, because it is FUN!

In honor of National Running Day and because I’ve had one glass of wine, I am signing up for the Philadelphia Half Marathon right now!  If I sign up, I have NO excuses not to do it.

This is a new fave quote of mine from Born to Run:

“Because if you don’t think you were born to run, you’re not only denying history. You’re denying who you are.”

Happy National Running Day.

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

