Weekend Things + First Week of Tri-Training

Posted on June 4, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

What a beautiful weekend! I started it off right with a delicious pizza inspired by Erika over at The Sweet Life. It was delicious and a great way to hide from the crazy rain storms we had on Friday evening.

Mozzarella, blue cheese, pear, honey and arugula pizza. Yes, this happened.

I finally got back into some strength-training at the gym and then quickly got through my triathlon workout for the day – 3 miles. Easy as pie 🙂 I was going to a wedding reception later that evening and wanted to eat a big lunch after my workout so I wasn’t starved when I went to the reception. I basically just threw everything I had in my fridge in with some whole grain pasta and it was tasty. I felt kind of funny having such a big lunch on a Saturday but it worked out well.

Whole wheat pasta, mushrooms, red onion, diced tomatoes, blue cheese, egg, arugula and the kitchen sink….just kidding!

That evening Addy and I got our dance moves on and partied at the wedding reception. It was so much fun! I nibbled on some of the hors d’oeuvres which included pulled pork sliders, pizza, crab cakes, croquettes, chicken skewers and tomato/mozzarella skewers. Yum!

On Sunday, I dragged my butt out of bed for a bike ride – can’t give up on the training on week 1 – and got a really nice 14 miles ride in. It was absolutely gorgeous on Sunday and I loved every moment on the Capital Crescent Trail.

Post-bike ride sweat.

I ended the weekend with some quality time with my Grandma. We went and saw Snow White and the Huntsmen. It was OK. I mean it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great and I am a Kristen Stewart fan so I enjoyed her (I know, I’m a tween). We enjoyed a lovely dinner out at J.Gilbert’s which included steak, scallops and mashed potatoes. Going out with my Grandma is always such a treat!

I am now on week two of my triathlon training and this program is starting off very slowly but it’s very manageable right now. I only missed a part of one workout the first week which is impressive for me. I’m determined to get all the workouts in this week, even when I’m on the road this coming weekend. Here’s what the program called for and what I actually did:

Monday: Rest/Rest
Tuesday: Swim 300 yards, Run 3 miles/Swim 300 yards, Run 3 miles
Wednesday: Bike 8 miles/Bike 8 miles
Thursday: Swim 300 yards, Run 2 miles/Run 2 miles
Friday: Rest/Rest
Saturday: Run 3 miles/Run 3 miles + 60 minutes strength training
Sunday: Bike 10 miles/Bike 14 miles

Not too shabby! It’s great to be back on a training program and I’m already getting excited for the triathlon in August.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

