The Capitol

Posted on May 31, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I had the opportunity yesterday to take a tour of the Capitol Dome and it was freaking awesome!  I haven’t been inside the Capitol building in a while.  I haven’t even checked out the new visitors’ center that they finished probably over 2 years ago.  I work maybe 2 blocks from here and got to admire it every day from the outside, it was definitely a special treat to see inside for once!

There were 7 of us total in the group – including our tour guide.  We had to sign paperwork that we understood we had over 300 stairs to climb and it could get hot (or cold) up there – so basically climb at your own risk.

On the way up, we stopped halfway up the dome to peer out at the rotunda.

And then made our way to the very top! My hands were sweating from being both nervous and hot and I was very concerned I was going to drop my phone while taking this picture!

Looking Down

Right in line with the mural at the tippy top!

Then for the final part, we went outside for  360 degree view of Washington, D.C.

Pennsylvania Avenue

It was a little overcast while we were outside, but the views were still amazing!

Seeing the city from a whole new view yesterday was such a neat opportunity and reminds me how unique this place is and why I love living here so much!

There is also a video that our guide was telling me about yesterday that they show in the Capitol Visitors’ Center. I’m thinking about going to check it out to learn even more about the building that I never knew!

Sidewalk art, not done by me – on 14th Street, NW – I have been meaning to take a picture of this for a while!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

