Weekend, by Stephanie

Posted on May 29, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Glorious, glorious weekend, I’m sad you are gone. I haven’t had such a relaxing weekend in a very long time. I decided to hang in town this weekend instead of fighting through beach traffic and to get my act together before I spend the next 5 out of 7 weekends on the road. Sometimes you just need a long weekend to unwind and that’s exactly what I did.

Not only did I accomplish every single item on my to-do list (including giving my apartment one hell of a cleaning) but I had time to lounge by the pool, hang out with friends and catch a baseball game. Even though I applied a TON of sunscreen throughout the weekend, I still am a little bit burnt. I have to admit, I love having some color. Nothing like a little tan to not only welcome summer but boost the self-esteem.

Saturday at the pool = pure bliss

Beer + sunscreen = pool essentials

Sweaty, sweaty baseball game

I actually didn’t work out for four days in a row and it was awesome. I knew my triathlon training program was starting on Monday and I guess I just felt like I needed a good rest before starting a 12-week training program. And it felt good. I am off to a good start with the plan – I mean day 1 was a rest day – and successfully completed the day 2 workout of a 3 mile run and a 300 yard swim this morning. Yes, they were both done indoors at my gym but hey, they happened! I ended up running the 3 miles on the treadmill first and then hopping into the little pool at my gym and swam for 15 minutes, which I’m pretty sure is more then enough time to have fit in 300 yards. I mean, I know I haven’t been swimming in awhile but 300 yards is really nothing for someone who grew up on two swim teams.

On a completely different note, I think the biggest lesson I learned over the weekend was that my body does not enjoy Mike’s Hard Lemonade. While the first one was so refreshing while soaking up some sun pre-game in Baltimore, by the third can, my stomach was pleading me to stop ingesting such a sugary beverage. Mike’s Hard Lemonade and I are NOT friends. Noted!

This week is going to be a quieter one at work and I’m looking forward to re-charging before June and July come out in full force. I’m also grateful that the first week of my new fitness routine is happening in a stress-less work week. It’s the perfect time for me to transition into swimming and biking. I’m actually really excited for the 8 mile bike ride that’s on the docket for tomorrow. After the super hot 10k two weeks ago, I purchased a hand-held water bottle this weekend at CitySports and am planning to use it during the triathlon. I struggle to hydrate during races and want to get into the happen of taking small sips frequently during my runs. I know that the run at the end of the triathlon will be the biggest challenge of the race (it always is for me) so the more hydrated I am, the better. I hope holding the bottle doesn’t annoy me too much…

Nathan Quick Draw Water Bottle

That’s all for now. Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Stephanie

Saturday’s workout: Rest
Saturday’s meals highlight: Grilled chicken for lunch a la my friend
Sunday’s workout: Rest
Sunday’s meals highlight: Turkey Sandwich at Camden Yards
Monday’s workout: Day 1 of Triathlon Training = Day of Rest
Monday’s meals highlight: Eh
Tuesday’s workout: Day 2 – 3 mile run + 300 yard swim
Tuesday’s meals highlight: TBD

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

