Race Recap: Capitol Hill Classic 10k

Posted on May 22, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

To continue my super active weekend, I took my Warrior butt for a nice little run on Sunday morning for the Capitol Hill Classic 10k. I took it very easy on Saturday afternoon/evening and enjoyed some major couch time, some Thai food and channel surfing. I was up early and out on my bike heading over to Capitol Hill by 7:15am for the race. Riding my bike to the race was super easy and something I really need to do more often. It also felt good to stretch out my legs on the way there and later post-race on the way back to my apartment. The ride there was short, quiet and warm, as it was already a gorgeous day.

As I was locking up my bike I ran into Addy and Justin – perfect! We went to pick up our packets, I bag-checked my gear and we made our way into the park to chill before the race. We also snapped some photos of our outfits as we were decked out in our Sparkle skirts and our “I Love Sweat” shirts. Both the skirts and shirts were huge hits throughout the race. Right before 8:30am we lined up in the corral (there was no seeding, everyone just kind of did their own thing) and then bam! we were off.

Pre-race looking a little sleepy…

Addy and I ran the first 4.5 miles together. Our first mile was quick but who know if it was correct. It was around the 8:50 pace range. Our next three miles were also faster than I normally run but I was feeling good and it was motivating to be running with speedy Addy. We were averaging around a 9:17 pace for those three miles. And then we hit the hill around the end of mile 4 and into 5 and that’s where I just had to slow down and Addy went off of her own. I really struggle with hills – not necessarily getting up them but my recovery after I’m back on the flat road. Mile 5 was a slow 10:04 (yup, I remember it exactly).

I was disappointed my pace had fallen that much but knew I just needed to keep up my good breathing and that I would be able to speed up again soon. It was hot out there and I poured water over my head at a water station which really helped me cool down and gave me a little jolt to speed up. I kept looking down at my Garmin…and finally saw that 9 I was looking for. Again, at the next station, I poured more water over my head and was determined to keep increasing my speed for the last 1.2 miles of the race.

When I rounded the bend for the last .2 mile of the race I kicked it into high gear and was moving as fast as I could to the finish line and was around an 8:30 pace. It felt great to cross the finish line and I almost immediately saw Addy! My overall time was 58:47 and I feel good about it. Addy and I quickly took an “after” photo before we both went about with our busy days. The 10k was a great way to start the day and I really enjoyed the race.

How about an nice muddy photo from Warrior Dash and a photo of me scarfing down some Bear Naked granola post-dash to end this post? Enjoy!

So. Much. Mud.

Granola to the face.

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Rest
Friday’s meals highlight: Shake Shack at Nationals Stadium
Saturday’s workout: Warrior Dash
Saturday’s meals highlight: Wawa sub
Sunday’s workout: Capitol Hill Classic 10k
Sunday’s meals highlight: Bagel post-race
Monday’s workout: Rest
Monday’s meals highlight: Salmon, feta and spinach burger (made by WF not me)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Race Recap: Capitol Hill Classic 10k”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

[…] 2012: Race Recap: Capitol Hill Classic 10k AND Race Recap: Warrior […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

