Family, Fun and Food

Posted on May 21, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend, my whole family came to town for a visit.  On Saturday morning, we all watched my nephew kick ass in his soccer game and score two goals!  We ate some Pete’s A Pizza and did a White House tour.

After the tour, we settled in for massive amounts of lasagna and Preakness watching!  What a fun race it was to watch, I’m totally hoping for a Triple Crown winner in 2 weeks!   Truthfully, I was rooting for Tiger Walk during the Preakness, mainly because he is local(ish) – out of Sagamore Farm which is now owned by the Under Armour founder, Kevin Plank.  I’m only recently obsessed with Under Armour because of the new sports bra I bought, it really is as awesome as the video says it is!

On Saturday night we went for a tour of the monuments.  It’s such a neat way to see the monuments, all lit up.   We visited the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial for the first time sine it opened last year. I have driven by numerous times, so have seen the shape and design from a far.  It was really incredible to see in person.

The Washington Monument also never disappoints, even from a distance.

Sunday morning the entire family was up early for the Capitol Hill Class 10k that Stephanie and I were both signed up for.   The day before I had run 3 miles with Justin part of it on a trail and my legs were feeling very heavy – not strong at all. I wasn’t really sure how the 6.2 miles were going to go for me, I didn’t really have any sort of goal in mind, just wanted to wear my sparkle skirt and my brand new I Heart Sweat t-shirt, thanks Ali for the perfect arrival time!

I averaged about a 9:21 pace.  It was HOT, I was reminded why races in D.C. in the summer are hard to do.  With that said, after doing that race and having nothing on the horizon, I’m a little sad that I don’t have a race to look forward to. I need to remedy that pretty quickly. I’ve been flirting with the idea of signing up for a late fall half marathon, but still have not pulled the trigger on anything.

My weekend ended with a sisters night at the spa.  I had given Tracy a gift certificate for a day at the spa over a year ago and she finally had the opportunity to cash it in.  And being the good sister that I am, I couldn’t let her go alone!  We had appointments for 7:30 pm. We got there around 6:30 and enjoyed some time in the hot tub chatting before our treatments.  Then we both had 80 minutes of pure relaxation.   I have only really ever gone for massages in the morning or afternoon, it was really fun to go at night especially at the end of what was a really busy, but fun weekend!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

