What Up, Weekend?

Posted on May 18, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

After an especially trying week at work I am extremely glad that it is Friday.

I am missing two Bachelorette parties this weekend because I am bad at budgeting and I need to make it to 7 more weddings this year. While it’s a huge bummer to miss celebrating with two good friends, I know they will have a blast and I will certainly make up for it a their weddings by drinking copious amounts of champagne and living it up on the dance floor. Ladies, please don’t rescind my invitation after that statement!

After being away for the weekend I came back on Monday to discover that my car had been towed from a legal parking spot. With my emotions running high I spent a good portion of the night finding my car. I paid the fine to get my car out of the impound lot and still need to pay the ticket of “parking illegally.” I am still taking deep breaths to remain calm about this situation.

I ran on Tuesday night. My plan was to go to either Zumba or Spin but I left the office a lot later than I had anticipated so I suited up and went for a run instead. My poor planning wasn’t very helpful on my run and I think I did around 3.5 miles because I was Garmin-less. I was also wearing capris and a t-shirt when I needed shorts and a tank on that muggy night. And I forgot a headband and had to push hair out of my face the entire run while swatting at bugs. But hey, I ran and I felt good.

I attempted to run again last night and only got in 1 mile and had to stop because I felt like my stomach was trying to escape my body. I walked back to the office and then walked home, dropped my stuff and continued on for a longer walk. It was a gorgeous night and it felt so good to walk but I just couldn’t step it up for a run. I think my body will enjoy the rest day today before tackling almost 10 miles this weekend.

I’m wearing one of my new purchases from my recent shopping spree and loving it. Bright colors really made any day better. And while I’m missing lots of Bachelorette fun this weekend I have managed to plan some excitement of my own. Nothing like a super cheap baseball ticket to brighten my day (even if it’s not to see the Yankees), plus I have two races this weekend. And honestly, what’s better than racing?

I went to a new studio on Wednesday night called Biker Barre to try out their barre class. While I appreciate it was their first day, there were definitely some kinks that needed to be worked out. The class started almost 15 minutes late, the barre studio is very small and I kept running into the other people in the class, the instructor kind of assumed that everyone in the class knew certain workout terms and gave instructions on each exercise EXTREMELY quickly and the entire class felt rushed and a bit hectic. I will admit I am obviously completely loyal to The Bar Method and a huge snob about bar classes after finding something I love so much. I hope Biker Barre works out their kinks. The cycling studio looked awesome and I’m sure they’ll be smoothly running in no time with a huge client base. The best part of the experience there was that cold, scented towels they gave out post-class. Wiping off my sweat with a lavender and lemon-grass towel was luxurious.

I have been rocking the most delicious salad for lunch this week – cooked sweet potato chunks, goat cheese, scallions and figs topped with a super small amount of balsamic dressing. Delicious and filling! I have also tried out a new snack – honey graham crackers topped with laughing cow and grapes. It’s such a great combination of salty and sweet and the perfect afternoon snack.

Well I think this post has gone on long enough. I may be back with a Fashion Friday post later…

But just in case, HAPPY WEEKEND!!!

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Advanced Step
Monday’s meals highlight: Blah
Tuesday’s workout: 3ish mile run
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Sweet potato salad
Wednesday’s workout: Bike Barre Class
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Sweet potato salad
Thursday’s workout: 1 mile run + 120 minute walk

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

