Shopping Itch

Posted on May 14, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I totally jumped on the shopping train this weekend. Thanks to Stephanie, I had major shopping envy and felt the need to satisfy my shopping itch!

I took care it in one short afternoon after visits to Tabletop, City Sports and the ever reliable Gap.  It was an eclectic shopping trip to be sure, but I got a nice serving dish at Tabletop, a new shirt and shorts to run in- and goggles for Justin (so he can swim again) from City Sports and finished out with a pair of red cropped pants and two tees from the Gap.

Saturday I was back on the running train after a short break.  I have been giving my legs a rest because my hamstring is still feeling extremely tight from the half marathon – which was almost 2 months ago now.  I’ve been stretching as much as I can and doing other forms of exercise, but the hamstring is still so tight.  I’ve been following my own advice that I often give Justin – to just rest, but I was signed up for this 5k with my sister and brother in law and figured I could just take it easy.   The race was the National Police Week 5k and honors officer that have been killed in the line of duty.  I did it last year too and it’s a really fun race – about 2,200 people participate.  We finished with an average 10:11 pace, it was a beautiful morning for a run and always fun to run alongside my nephew in the running stroller!  Stephanie and I are both signed up for a 10k this weekend.  After that, I will go back to resting, I swear.

After the run and watching my nephew play in his soccer game, I went out for my afternoon of shopping.   After my incredibly successful shopping trip, I strolled through my old neighborhood on my way to a friend’s house.  I moved out of the newly hip 14th Street neighborhood right as the restaurants were all opening and now all these apartment buildings are going up along the 14th street, it definitely felt like a whole new place to me.

I walked by my all time favorite building which really isn’t a building anymore, only the facade still exists.

The building itself used to be filled with a lot of junk and had been sitting there for rent for a while.  Finally, someone bought it up and gutted it and a new spot called Bakehouse will be opening there sometime in the near future.  My plans for the ultimate stationery store will have to be taken somewhere else.

Sunday was filled with softball, more shopping (yes, I needed one more thing to complete my weekend), and a lovely Mother’s Day celebration for my sister. We came home with this lovely basil plant that our nephew wanted us to have.  He knows Justin has been filling our terrace with plants and trees and thought he’d be the perfect person to take care of this basil plant.

Justin is currently researching how to harvest it and at the same time keep it growing. I was ready to just start picking off the leaves and using them in salads and pasta!

Happy Monday to all!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

