An Anniversary Weekend

Posted on April 30, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend was our wedding anniversary celebration weekend.  As Justin said, in true Addy fashion, I can drag a celebration out over several days!  Today is our actual anniversary, but we (I) tried to celebrate all weekend long.  We started off at Pete’s A Pizza on Friday night and split the sorbillo pie while also both eating slices of pizza.  We got dessert to go, this is the first time I really tried the desserts there.

First I had this:

Salted Caramel Panna Cotta

Then I photographed this:

chocolate cream cheese bite, pecan tart and oatmeal butterscotch cookie

I only tried the cream cheese bite, Justin ate the other two.  They were good, but nothing amazing. The pizza is really the reason to eat at Pete’s.

After debating what to do on Saturday for a little celebration, we landed on a trip to the local nursery (not babies! trees and plants).  Justin has been wanting to buy a new tree for the terrace.

We saw a sage tree that was the most beautiful shade of green with little purple flowers.   I was also admiring the hydrangea once again, but ultimately we left there with a tree that I have no idea what the name of is right now, but it looks similar to a Japanese Maple tree.

can you see Justin?

Since we walked to the nursery, we had to walk home (about 3 blocks) with the tree.  I offered to carry it for like 2 minutes, but wanted to hand it back over as soon as possible. All I can remember right now is that the name of the tree has Pixie in it, so her name will forever be Pixie.

our newest addition

Saturday night we went to dinner at Le Chat Noir in our neighborhood for some seriously tasty french food and champagne.

We had a lovely dinner filled with red wine, crepes, veal, lamb cheeks and topped off with some chocolate mousse and ice cream with espresso sauce.  A perfect way to celebrate our wedding, one year later!

On Sunday, I had my first two games of the softball season.  My team had a doubleheader and it was a beautiful morning for some softball. I am the former captain of the team, but gave it up this year due to a lot of weekend travel and no energy for trying to recruit players week to week.  We didn’t win either game, but I had some solid plays (and some major errors) throughout both games.  It was really nice just to get back out there!  After my game, I went for a run even with an extremely tight hamstring and busted out 3 miles.

I think I need to take a few days (like a week or more) off  from running, my hamstring has been tight since the half marathon and even a quick sport massage on Saturday didn’t help!

Sunday night, My sister and nephew took us out to dinner.  My brother in law was out of town and couldn’t join us, unfortunately.   We went to the newest Rosa Mexicano in our neighborhood.   I was psyched for the guacamole and margaritas, but was reminded again that their entrees are just so/so.  It was really worth it for the guac and churros for dessert and so fun to go out to dinner with Tracy and Max for our  anniversary!

Here is Justin giving Max a ride home after dinner.  He had so much practice with carrying the tree, carrying a 6 year old was a breeze…

We’ve had a very low key actual anniversary, but I think we wore ourselves out with so much food over the weekend.  It’s nice to have a chill Monday night. I’m off to try to our wedding cupcake that my mom saved for us to eat today. I’ll keep you posted on how it tastes!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

