Blah, Ramble, Blah Blah

Posted on April 26, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Are you ready for a rambling post? Good, so am I.

Today is Take Your Kids (Daughters) to Work Day. When did it become all kids instead of just daughters? Can’t a girl have a day with her parents to boost her self-esteem? Anyway, I saw two little girls on the metro this morning with their Dad. The youngest one was wearing a t-shirt that said, Take Your Daughter to Work, and they were both beaming. Their excitement was just radiating off of them. The metro conductor was a colorful one this morning and at one stop he mentioned that 24 doors would be opening to the platform. The girls eyes popped at the idea of 24 doors on the train! I hope they have a great day with their Dad at work. (This whole interaction made me teary-eyed…on the metro…at 8:30am…who am I?)

I’ve been kind of a slacker lately when it comes to my “healthy lifestyle.” I don’t know what it is but I just don’t feel very motivated. I’ve slept through my GET UP AND WORKOUT alarm twice this week. This is a pretty sad excuse but I blame the fact that the fitness studio at my gym has been closed since Wednesday while they re-do the floors. It’s totally thrown off my workout schedule because I’ve been relying heavily on their class schedule to keep me motivated. No Wednesday morning VIDA Rx? No Stephanie getting out of bed to work out. Sigh. I did manage to make it to the gym this morning for spin and totally loved the instructor…and at the end of class she announced it was her last day. Life, you’re so funny sometimes. I felt really great coming out of class though and was super sweaty and remembered how nice it is to get up in the morning and start my day with a workout. The instructor played the best songs this morning too including my current favorite – So Good by B.o.B.

I Heart Sweat at 6am.

It’s raining today and I walked to work with a HUGE golf umbrella that actually says PGA Tour on it. I’m such a huge huge golfer. Oh wait, it’s actually the opposite of that. I do own golf clubs and I do enjoy the driving range but I’ve never played more than 8 holes. I am good with the woods (TWSS) and the putting but am so bad with the irons, which is essentially the majority of the game. I say this every spring/summer but I’m going to get out there and play more this season. Ha. Ha. Ha.

I’ve purchased three dresses from Ann Taylor in the last week and a half. They are all for work and were super on sale. Score!

The Way We Were and Funny Girl were on TV the other night in honor of Barbra Streisand’s birthday. I love both of those movies and Barbra Streisand.

My meals this week have kind of been great and kind of sub-par at the same time. I went out for pizza on Monday (great!) and had eggs for dinner on Tuesday (sub-par). I forgot my lunch at home yesterday (sub-par) but went out for sushi last night (great!). Get it together!

Remember that mason jar salad? Here is it being all wild on my plate. Annie's Lite Gingerly Dressing, shredded cabbage, shredded carrots, edamame, shrimp and lettuce. I forgot my second ever mason jar salad at home on Wed. Go me.

The birthday girl likes beer and pizza 🙂 (Meredith, hope you're reading AND approve of this!)

Made the best out of my forgotten lunch situation. I bought a turkey sandwich from the cafeteria and got some extra veggies from the salad bar to load it up - whole wheat bread, dijon mustard, turkey, lettuce, tomato, red onions, cucumber, spinach and green peppers. Pear on the side, YUM!

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Rest
Monday’s meals highlight: Pi Pizza
Tuesday’s workout: Zumba
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Um…
Wednesday’s workout: 60 minute walk
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Sushi

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Blah, Ramble, Blah Blah”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

I am stepping up my usual passive reading (of every post) and actually commenting – I LOVED the shoutouts! I will happily consider myself a real live internet celebrity now. On another note, I’m glad I’m not the only one slacking this week. I’m blaming the rain.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

