Class Review: TRX and April Fitness Goals Check-In

Posted on April 23, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

On Saturday morning I finally gave TRX a try after hearing Addy speak so glowingly about it. And I have to say…I loved it! First of Addy’s gym is super nice and it was fun to workout in a different spot. Something about it just felt so energizing. Second, the instructor was great! The class was just about full and Addy introduced me to the instructor in the beginning of class. I felt like she made some good eye contact with me during class because I was the only new person in the room. I love that type of connection.

The class went by so quickly! I think I was really concentrating on how to hold the straps and if I was doing the moves correctly because I had never done it before, but the time really flew by. There was a good mix of music (though I would have liked it to be a bit louder throughout class). We did a sequence of moves and started out by doing them slowly and then sped up our reps. After learning the moves we did the entire sequence again at the end and I liked that because I felt more confident and like I was pushing myself a bit more.

One thing that I didn’t like was when the straps rubbed against my arms during one portion of class. It was painful and my arms were all red. But clearly, I made it through 😉

The class was focused on strength training but we did get a little bit of cardio in with some mountain climbers and dynamic lunges. The ab portion was short but oh man did I feel it! Overall, I really love the class and totally understand why Addy enjoys it so much. I wish my gym didn’t charge extra for it (at my gym, TRX is a small group program) so I could do it more often. I hope Addy is ready for a regular gym guest 🙂

So…let’s check in on my April Fitness Goals for this past week. The week got off to a slow start fitness-wise. I didn’t work out Sunday, Monday or Tuesday. What can I say? Sometimes a girl just needs a few days off. But I think I did a pretty good job of making up for it the rest of the week. I managed to get in a lot of great strength training this week but lacked on the cardio.

Monday – Rest
Tuesday – Rest
Wednesday – Strength training, 2x cardio
Thursday – Cardio
Friday – Strength training
Saturday – Strength training
Sunday – Cardio

Maybe this upcoming week will be my best yet! I’ve also decided to continue this fitness challenge through May. I found the triathlon training program I want to use and it is only 11 weeks long (much shorter than the 20 week program I had initially wanted to do). A little over two months feels like the perfect amount of time to get in shape for the triathlon and I really liked the swim workouts associated with this plan. So May will be more of me utilizing the great classes at my gym and getting 5x cardio/3x strength in per week.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

