Wedding #1 and the Running Skirt and Garmin Go for a Run

Posted on April 16, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Well, hello there. I officially kicked off wedding season (well in my world) on Saturday night with the wedding of my friends Trish and Berto. What a night! But first let’s backtrack to Friday.

I got home from work and suited up in my new running skirt and hit that pavement for a short 3 mile run. I admit that I had hoped to do more but this was the first time I have been running post-Cherry Blossom race and I was feeling sluggish. Not only did I get to debut my new running skirt but I also took my very own Garmin for its first spin. My first mile was very slow (10:40) because I stopped a million times getting from my apartment out to the mall – stupid traffic lights! But I picked up the pace for the next two miles (9:34 and 9:28) and got a nice little run in. I forgot to take a picture of my running stats on the Garmin but did snap this super-flattering (insert eye roll) pic of my legs and skirt.

Tennis anyone?

I then whipped up another fantastic batch of faux-fried quinoa (I plan to make this a few times this week as well) and spent a quiet night at home.

Mmmmmmm.

I started Saturday off with Vida RX to get some weight-lifting in and then beautified for the wedding. I was almost late to the ceremony due to an insane amount of “it’s nice out, let’s go into DC” traffic. I literally ran into the church 10 minutes before it started and was a bit flustered.

Hi, we're married!

Luckily, there was some downtime before the cocktail hour/reception and I was able to check into my hotel room, get settled and freshen-up a bit. The best part of the wedding was the ROCKIN’ band they had hired. It was an 8 piece band and they never took a break because they were such a hit with all of the guests. The entire dance floor was packed the entire night and I felt like I danced the entire evening. The bride and groom never left the dance floor as the band played hit after hit (with some oldies mixed in). I love weddings that have all the guests out on the dance floor – they are just so much fun!

M&M with the bride and groom's face on them!

Late night mini cheeseburger bar? YES, please!!

After brunch on Sunday I headed back into the city to get my act together for the week and then went back up to MD for my weekly dose of coaching. It was nice to be outside and run around but my allergies were really acting up and even though I had taken a Zyrtec earlier that day, I was struggling. It was nice to wrap up my weekend by lounging on my couch post-coaching.

I’m going to end this post with a picture of this random tree that was in the hotel on Saturday. So pretty.

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: 3 mile run
Friday’s meals highlights: Faux-fried quinoa…again
Saturday’s workout: VIDA Rx + copious amounts of dancing
Saturday’s meals highlights: All thing wedding 🙂
Sunday’s workout: Chasing 4th and 6th grade girls around a field hockey field for 2 hours
Sunday’s meals highlights: Honestly, it was the diet Pepsi I got after coaching at 7-11

April Fitness Goals Check-in, Week 2: I managed to do 5 sessions of cardio!! But only 2 strength-training sessions instead of 3…I hope I can do 3 this week.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

