Gardens

Posted on April 16, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

We live in an apartment building, but have a fairly large terrace.  We haven’t lived there for one full year yet, so this spring is our first.  Justin has taken advantage of some of the oversize pots the owner of the condo left for us to use and has planted some peas, carrots and various leafy greens.  I only have one photo right now and it was taken when he brought the pot inside last week due to the much cooler weather.  I happened to be stretching right next to it and snapped a quick photo.

Peas and Carrots

I realize this also makes it seem like I can’t be bothered to take a photo outside – I’ll get one next time when everything has grown even more.

We bought this pineapple at Whole Foods this weekend because it was only $2.99 and because it is from Costa Rica!

Justin and I both had a fleeting thought of trying to start our own pineapple bush on the terrace.  I feel pretty certain that’s not possible, but wouldn’t it be amazing to have all the fresh pineapple you want outside your door.  I think moving to Costa Rica (or Hawaii) would solve that easily!

We had friends in town visiting with their two little boys and we spent the day at the National Zoo. Yesterday was a hot one and everybody and their entire family seemed to be at the zoo yesterday.  The boys, who are 5 and 3, had a blast and we got to see a lot of great animals despite all the crowds!

I got in a run yesterday too, after our friends left, it was still so hot, so I decided I was going to wait until later in the evening to run.  I had dinner at my sister’s house and several glasses of red wine, but when I got home, I decided I still really wanted to get the run done.

I set out thinking I’d do 2-3 miles.  I had high hopes that maybe I could push out 4, but alas came through with 3.

Tonight Justin and I are off to the Nationals game to see Stephen Strasburg pitch.  I am looking forward to that…and a chili cheese dog.

Happy Monday!

Addy

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

