Fashion Friday: Rent the Runway and Shoes

Posted on April 13, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Happy Fashion Friday! Or just happy Friday in general. I’m really excited for the weekend ahead because a former roommate of mine is getting married on Saturday. I actually rented a dress from Rent the Runway for the occasion.

Shoshanna Kiss Me Twice

I actually wore a similar Shoshanna dress to a wedding last October and it got rave reviews. It was blue but a very similar cut, was flattering, had pockets and was SUPER comfortable. With so many weddings again this year, I hope to use Rent the Runway and have some fun with my wardrobe. The dresses are really affordable and I’d rather rent a variety of different designer dresses than buy one expensive dress that I know I’ll tire of eventually. I’m already picking my favorites on their site for the rest of the weddings I have this year.

I bought a pair of Kohl’s shoes a few weeks ago and unfortunately when they arrived they were WAY too big and I had to return them. They aren’t online anymore either! I need to make my way out to a Kohl’s store and see if they have any left in stock.

Wouldn't these have been a great addition to my spring collection?

Speaking of flats, it’s also time to replace my black flats. I pretty much just buy the cheap flats and wear them into the ground and then buy another pair. Standard black flats – can’t live without them!

Espadrille’s and cork wedges are everywhere this season and I have been eying a few pairs. I haven’t pulled the trigger yet, mostly because they are all pretty high and I’m already a tall gal, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I bought a pair soon. They just seem like a great shoe for the spring/summer.

And finally in shoes, I am on the hunt for the perfect pair of patent leather nude peep-toe pumps for a wedding (and life in general) in June. I can’t seem to find a pair that I like. Any suggestions of where to hunt for this perfect pair of shoes?

In other non-fashion news, I did one of Julie’s circuit workouts last night and HOLY SWEATY WORKOUT! After completing a quick 20 minute interval run on the treadmill I dove into the circuit and completed it 2x. It’s was a TOUGH one and I was dripping when I was done but it sure felt good to complete it.

50 jumping jacks
20 alternating lunges
10 tuck jumps
20 squats
60 sec. high knees
10 jump squats
60 sec. jump rope
10 burpees
60 jumping jacks
20 sec. mountain climbers
25 push ups (on my knees)
60 sec. plank

Yup. I took breaks in between each exercise – usually about 30 – 45 seconds and had to do the push-ups on my knees. It was a workout my friends and I kind of felt silly doing it at the gym with other people around but I don’t have a jump rope at home and it was easier to do it right after finishing my run.

The 20 minute interval treadmill workout I’ve done twice this week is from Brittany and it’s her beginner interval workout. It’s the perfect way to warm up and get a good interval workout before some strength training or a circuit workout. I’m looking forward to trying her intermediate and challenging interval workouts as well.

After the gym I went home determined to make some faux fried rice. I stopped off at the grocery store and saw some pineapple and suddenly I created a new dish in my head. I picked up some shrimp and quinoa and headed home. I ended up cooking shrimp, pineapple and edamame in a pan while the quinoa cooked up. I then took a cup of cooked quinoa and added it to the rest of the ingredients and then splashed on some soy sauce. I topped it all with some sriracha and it was delicious!

Heaven in a bowl created by me.

Do you think I liked it?

I ended the night with a milk chocolate Adora disk and some NBC TV.

Stephanie

Thursday’s workout: 20 minute interval treadmill run + 30 minute cardio circuit workout
Thursday’s meals highlight: “Fried” Quinoa, Shrimp and Pinneapple

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

