Kickboxing and the Green Smoothie

Posted on April 9, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

There was no Fashion Friday post. Tragic, I know. Maybe it was because I started the weekend on Thursday with homemade pizza, half a magnum of wine and good times with some friends. Just maybe.

This is our homemade pizza...we tried to put an egg on it and be all fancy. The egg dripped onto the bottom of the oven. It was quite the adventure. My two girlfriends and I then proceeded to eat our way around the egg and eventually made our host's husband chow down on it. Classy!

After such a raucous Thursday, it’s no surprise that my Friday night was low-key and involved a quick treadmill workout, a trip to Lululemon and leftover pizza from Friday’s lunch out with co-workers. It wasn’t healthy but it sure was delicious.

More pizza! I will not eat any pizza this week. Maybe. I promise. I'll try.

What did I buy at Lululemon you ask? Well that gift card was burning a hole in my pocket and I just had to purchase two items that I totally didn’t need but now love. I finally took the plunge into the running skirt world.

Lululemon Pace Setter skirt...yes those are ruffles!

I also bought another top…in pink. Whoops.

I finally got back into strength training with an hour long lifting class at my gym on Saturday. And then for some crazy reason I decided to stay for kickboxing. I’ve taken many kickboxing classes in the past but I’ve never taken one this hard before. The instructor was really nice and he walked around and introduced himself to everyone who was new and explained how the class was going to work. He essentially teaches a routine and then that routine is repeated many, many times. Once we learned the routine on the right side (which involved numerous kicks and getting down on the floor for a push-up among other things), we repeated it 8x in a row. I was huffing and puffing! I had to sit out 3 or the 8 rounds. And by sit out, I mean stand there while being beat red and breathing heavily. Other people in the class did the same so I didn’t feel too bad and I did push myself as much as possible but it was TOUGH.

And then, only 30 minutes had passed and I was determined not to leave the class even though I was hurting and we started learning the routine on the left side. And once we learned the routine, it was time to do it 8x in a row on that side. And just when I thought my body couldn’t take anymore, we did the sides back to back 3x in a row. Holy crap.

I picked up the moves and the routine very quickly because choreography has always been pretty easy for me (I know, I sound like a cocky jerk, but it’s true) but I was really breathing heavily and dripping with sweat. I left the class beet red and drenched. The instructor came back around at the end to talk to all the new people and he was actually super nice. A good instructor really makes a big difference!

I woke up on Sunday feeling super sore. More sore than I’ve felt in a very long time. The soreness continues today…I am waddling around like a duck. Exciting, I know.

Lunch of champions after a two hour workout. Yes, that is a green smoothie.

First green smoothie attempt - I thought it would be safer not to make it myself the first time.

Unsure and scared here...I still hadn't taken a sip.

It's hitting my lips!

I like it! I really really like it!

The rest of the weekend included some delicious BBQ at The Standard – Cold beer, a pulled pork sandwich and sitting outside certainly says spring to me. I need to go there more often. And of course some great family time on Sunday. I hope everyone has a great Easter (or beginning of Passover)!

Stephanie

So, this was the first week of the April fitness goals and I did a pretty mediocre job. I did cardio 4x (goal was 5x) and I did strength training just once (goal was 3x). I’m determined to meet my goal this week and for the rest of the month – especially when it comes to the strength training.

Thursday’s workout: Rest
Thursday’s meals highlights: Homemade pizza
Friday’s workout: 45 minute interval treadmill workout
Friday’s meals highlight: Pizza…again
Saturday’s workout: VIDA Rx and Kickboxing
Saturday’s meals highlight: BBQ at The Standard
Sunday’s workout: Limping around aka rest
Sunday’s meals highlight: Rack of lamb at Clyde’s

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

