A Great Weekend

Posted on April 9, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend was a perfect weekend to be outside, even when I’ve been attacked by allergies. I think allergies for me have gotten progressively worse each year.  Everybody says that living in D.C. makes people develop allergies they never had.  I’m sure that’s true and this year just seems to be brutal for everybody!

Justin and I went to our first seder on Friday night at my sister’s house with all of her in-laws.  It was a crazy good time.  We drank more wine than I can even remember and ate tons of brisket and matzah.  We drank so much wine with everybody that we were talked into joining the family the next morning for a family photo shoot!  We agreed to it, but it meant that I had to cancel on Stephanie’s very first TRX class.  She and I are going to have to find a time to reschedule, because I really want her to try it…and love it as much as I do!

Saturday night, Justin and I went to our first D.C. United game of the season.  I sported my newest Lululemon top (Stephanie and I went on separate Lululemon shopping sprees this weekend)!

The game was fun, but we didn’t get to see any goals scored.  It ended in a 0-0 tie.   We did get to eat some chicken fingers, fries and hot dogs though.

On Sunday, I wanted to try to do a longerish run – I wanted to do 6 miles, but only ended up with 5.   It was hard I think because I’m so stuffed up with allergies, breathing was difficult and also, my legs are just tired.  It was also really hot while I was running.  Kind of reminds me that running throughout the summer during the day is going to be next to impossible for me.  Running first thing in the a.m.  will likely be my only option.  Training for races in the winter is definitely my preference.

I am happy with my pace especially because those 5 miles felt so hard. Hopefully I can get back up to 6 miles this coming weekend, it’s amazing how quickly I lost the endurance after the half marathon!

Justin is never psyched to take a picture of me pre or post run, so I opted on my own bathroom mirror photo.  My other Lululemon purchase this weekend, a pair of the turbo run shorts. I like them, but they might be a little too short for my running pleasure.  I’ll give them another whirl this weekend if the weather cooperates.

After my run, I checked out Dumbarton Oaks with my sister and her fam. The gardens are so beautiful and still had some lovely tulips in bloom.

My favorite part was the pool and the bright azaleas in full bloom.

I finished the weekend starting Mockingjay for the second time and eating naan pizza for dinner.   A truly great weekend.

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

