Yearly Goals Check-In

Posted on April 3, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Remember when I said that I don’t make New Years Resolutions and then went right on to make a list of goals to accomplish for the year?

Or when I said I like to make goals for the year around my birthday so they are for MY year?

Well my birthday was two weeks ago and I have yet to make a list of goals for my 29th year. So we might as well check in on the non-New Years Resolutions I made in January instead.

Goal: By the end of January I will be meatless at least 5 days a week.

Result? Success! While I am not following the Flexitarian Diet to a T, I am meatless 5 days a week and I have to say it’s been pretty effortless. I have to say that I have been eating a lot of fish and eggs but I’d rather incorporate those into my diet more often than with red meat. I’m still using some Flexitarian Diet recipes and find that I tend to be meatless during the week and kind of “let loose” if you will on the weekends. So yes, I’ve been eating vegetables, had a foray into tofu, and am enjoying my reconnection with quinoa, but I’ve also had some burgers, some steak and my favorite Greek lamb dish and I’m enjoying it all.

Quinoa and veggies? Yes please!

Steak fajitas? Yes, please!

Goal: By the end of March I will have paid off my Ann Taylor Loft and JCrew credit cards and canceled them.

Result? Success…well sort of. I did in fact pay off the balance of my Ann Taylor Loft card and cancel it. I did in fact pay off the balance of my JCrew card…but I didn’t cancel it. I’ve now purchased three bridesmaids dresses from JCrew and feel like I want to hold on to the card in case I need to purchase another one. It may not be logical for any of you but it works in my head. I also forgot to add to my goals to pay off my bike by the beginning of March (before I was going to start being charged interest). The good news is that I accomplished that goal as well and now fully own my road bike. Woo!

Goal: By the end of June I will have completed the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler and an Olympic triathlon and will be halfway to my goal weight.

Result? So this goal has to be tinkered first because the triathlon is now in August. So after Sunday, I have completed the Cherry Blossom 10 miler (race recap coming soon!) and I’ll have to wait until June regarding the weight goal and August for the triathlon goal. Just jiggering it all a bit but the goals still exist.

Goal: By the end of September I will have reached my goal weight.

Goal: By the end of December I will have paid off at least half of my credit card debt.

The last two goals are too far away for analysis right now. I have to say that right now I’m feeling really good about accomplishing the rest of the goals. I just need to stop being lazy and brainstorm some more creative, interesting goals to accomplish before I turn 30. Any good ideas?

How are you guys doing with your New Years Resolutions and goals for 2012?

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

