I’m In Love

Posted on March 28, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Guys, I think I’ve found “the one.” Can you believe it?

No, I’m not talking about a guy…I’m talking about the Garmin Forerunner 405. I borrowed Addy’s last night for a run (she is lending it to me this week to use for the race) and I totally get why every blogger, runner, athlete has one of these things. I love it so much that I plan on purchasing one today with some birthday money. The fact that I’m going to spend some serious cash on a watch for running instead of some clothes at J.Crew really blows my mind. I’ve come a long way in the past year in terms of my dedication to running and fitness and I hope it only continues.

My training program called for 4-6 easy miles last night and I wanted to hit right in the middle with 5. I wasn’t feeling too motivated after work (after I did not get up in the morning to run, go me) and then discovered that I had forgotten a sports bra. Old Stephanie would have just thrown in the towel right then and there and gone home to slack off. However, my co-worker was also going for a run and I knew I could run in my regular old bra so I went for it. Yay, New Stephanie!

We ended up doing 5.2 miles and they felt great. At first I couldn’t stop looking at the Garmin and then I realized I just needed to run and be patient and wait for the beep to get an updated on our pace. We started out fast down a hill so our first mile was 8:50! The next mile was 9:10 and my co-worker suggested we slow down a bit and honestly, I’m glad she did, I was supposed to be taking it easy and I was getting all wrapped up in the excitement of the Garmin and my speed. A taper week is NOT the time to get excited about speed. I mean, really. Our third miles was 11:03 and picked it up to 10:00 flat for the last two miles (including the big hill on Constitution). Our average was 10:43. And yes, I forgot to take a picture of the final stats on the watch. Whoops.

All in all it was a good run. I’m resting tonight and then doing one more run tomorrow before resting on Friday and Saturday before the race Sunday. I’m really pumped to use the Garmin for tomorrow night’s run and for the race. Woo!!

On Monday, I went to pick up some Honey Stingers to use on Sunday. They were hard to find in stores! I bought four packs – two pink lemonade and two limeade. I’ll probably only use one pack on Sunday but I’m glad to have some good energy chews stocked up.

On a totally random note, I received a Title Nine catalogue in the mail last night. Not only do I love the title of the company but they have a ton of great athletic wear. I’m most excited about their Skirts with Benefits (SWB) because they look like so much fun to wear. I think I know where some of my other birthday money will be spent…

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Day of rest
Monday’s meals highlights: Blah
Tuesday’s workout: 5.2 mile run
Tuesday’s meals highlights: Blah again

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

