A Case of the Blahs

Posted on March 14, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

My triathlon training is going really well.

Oh wait, it’s actually the complete opposite of that.

It’s been really challenging for me to follow two separate training programs at the same time. For example, I really needed a day of rest on Monday and my Cherry Blossom Training schedule called for a day of rest. However, my triathlon training schedule wanted me to run 30 minutes and then swim for 30 minutes. That totally did not happen. Instead I took the rest day I needed and enjoyed a relaxing night at home filled with a microwave meal (ugh, I know, so lazy), peanut butter and major poster making (hidden talent, I swear).

The Cherry Blossom race is 18 days away and I certainly don’t want to burn myself out pushing too hard with the triathlon training. I’d like to keep my mileage up for the Cherry Blossom race and make sure I’m at my running best for it. It’s true that I’m nervous to do my first Olympic-length triathlon but I think that once I can focus on training for it, I’ll get into a good groove and will be in great shape for it. It’s all about the positive thinking, people!

I’ll still try to throw some swimming and biking in over the next two and a half weeks but I’m not going to beat myself up for not following the triathlon training program to a T. So happy to have gotten that whole thing off my chest. Breathe in, breathe out.

I had grand plans to wake up on Tuesday morning and go for an awesome run. Instead I woke up much later than I had hoped and ran 3 miles on the treadmill at the gym. About 1.5 miles into my run I started regretting not getting up early and running outside. The gym was crowded and super hot and it was such a gorgeous morning. Nice work, Stephanie.

Tuesday night included happy hour which meant beers and nachos – delicious. I did add a little extra workout in (could even be a triathlon workout?) by biking home the 3.4 miles from H Street. It was an absolutely gorgeous night to bike home and the Capital Bike Share pulled through for me a a cheaper option than taking a cab.

I again had grand plans for this morning and while I did actually manage to get up and go for a run, it was complete crap. My legs were tired and felt like lead. I was barely moving. And I didn’t even do the 5 miles I had wanted to do. Crappy, crappy, crappy.

But I did get out there and that certainly was better than lying in bed for another hour or so. I’m going to do some good stretching and foam rolling tonight after my dinner plans and give my legs a good rest. I have high hopes to do 10 miles tomorrow night after work…wish me luck!

Stephanie

Tuesday’s workout: 3 mile treadmill run + 3.4 mile bike ride home
Tuesday’s meals highlights: Nachos!
Wednesday’s workout: 4.81 mile run
Wednesday’s meals highlights: Not sure yet!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

