Race Recap: St. Patrick’s Day 8k

Posted on March 12, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Yesterday I kicked off racing season with my first race of 2012 – the St. Patrick’s Day 8k.

It was an absolutely beautiful day and the perfect first race of the year. And even though daylight savings knocked off an hour of sleep time, the race didn’t start until 9am, which is luxurious if you ask me. The race was well organized and a very easy half-walk/half-jog from my apartment. As I got closer to the race, I started to see lots of people decked out in green gear and it really pumped me up. I met up with a friend to start the race off together. She is much speedier than I am and we did the first mile at a 8:10 pace. After she told me we were rocking that type of speed, I told her to go ahead with me so I could slow down a bit. I needed to be realistic about my pace so I could finish the race in one piece!

I’m happy I pulled back and enjoyed running the rest of the race at my own speed. The course was very flat and fast and the race was over so quickly! I didn’t end up using my MapMyRun.com app on my phone so I relied on the official results for my time. At a 9:03 pace I finished in 44:56. And let me tell you, I am happy about it! I’ve never run an 8k so this is a PR for me too!

I don’t know if I’ll be able to maintain a 9-minute mile pace for the Cherry Blossom 10-miler but would like try. I think my speed was attributed to the debut of my new Nathan Pack, Team Sparkle race legs and my I Love Sweat shirt 🙂

I took this post-race in the Whole Foods bathroom. Sexy, I know.

I ran into some friends after the race and we went to Hamilton’s to grab a drink. Nothing like a spicy Bloody Mary as a post-race treat. It really was a great day and has me even more excited for my next race.

Race day friends are the best kind.

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Day of rest
Friday’s meals highlights: None
Saturday’s workout: Zumba
Saturday’s meals highlights: None
Sunday’s workout: St. Patty’s Day 8k
Sunday’s meals highlights: Greek with Grandma

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Race Recap: St. Patrick’s Day 8k”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

[…] March 2012: Race Recap: St. Patrick’s Day 8k […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

