It’s been too long

Posted on March 12, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’m back!   Yesterday, I did my last long run before the 1/2 marathon this weekend. I ran 10 miles, currently the longest I’ve ever run in my life…until next weekend.  It was a really great run, I didn’t expect much as I had gotten off a red eye just 4 hours prior, but I also think the hellish work trip that I had just come from created enough stress to run off quite easily!

This is the fastest long run I’ve done – I realize my secret to my average pace is going out way too fast on the first few miles.  I have no idea how to pace myself and am worried that won’t get any better when I’m running with a group of folks at the start of the race.  I wish I could just hold anywhere between 9:05-9:15 per mile throughout.  Stats below (I manually put this in excel, I haven’t figured out the Garmin program on my computer…still).   Bring on the half!

Mile 1 8:15
Mile 2 8:33
Mile 3 8:58
Mlle 4 8:47
Mile 5 8:51
Mile 6 9:18
Mile 7 9:15
Mile 8 9:53
Mile 9 9:48
Mile 10 9:46
Average 9:08
Time 01:30.33

I was in Seattle for part of my work trip.   I actually had about 1 hour to explore the city – which of course means exploring all the food options.

I was with my co-worker and we walked around a bit, found a place where they sell mini donuts in many different flavors, ordered a 1/2 dozen and the guy hooked us up with almost a dozen.  The donuts were warm and tasty and the perfect treat before the main meal.   I showed my co-worker the very first Starbucks – which is just down the street from the market sign.  It was super crowded outside, so I snapped a quick picture of my co-worker and then we went on our way to try some mac n cheese.  I had been to Beecher’s before in Seattle and somehow never knew they have a location in NYC too.  My co-worker and I both ordered 16 oz of mac n cheese. I ordered the spicy mariachi which was good, but should have stuck to the basics, I don’t need any special additions like veggies in my pasta and cheese!  Don’t get me wrong, I still ate it all.

Justin is out of town and I almost had the typical “Addy dinner while Justin is away” – yummy soft cheese and bread.  But I decided to be more responsible and went back to my old standby, garbanzo beans, sauteed spinach, cherry tomatoes and an apple gouda sausage.   For dessert, Vosges chocolate.

Be back again soon, promise it won’t be so long until next time!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

