Class Review: Core Fusion at Exhale Spa

Posted on March 7, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

While in New York this past weekend, I took some time out of my eating and boozing schedule to take a workout class with my best friend and her two sisters. We took a Core Fusion class at Exhale Spa at the Gansevoort Hotel.

Everyone was buzzing about the Kardashians and the Gansevoort. Usually I’m more on top of these things but I had no idea what they were talking about.

I digress.

Let me first start by saying that the overall experience of the class was meh. The gym at the hotel was very tiny, which also means they had a very tiny locker room. My gym has a nicer locker room than they do! I guess I just had higher expectations for a hotel that everyone “oohed and ahhed” about.

The class was packed and we were the only new people in the room. The instructor introduced herself to us and couldn’t believe that none of us had been to a Core Fusion class before. She definitely made me nervous! She also wore a combination of crazy ripped clothes and definitely gave off the aura that she was on something…if you know what I mean. I tried to stay positive though and hoped that all my Bar Method training would come in handy 🙂

The class was very challenging. We started off with a series of planks and then moved on to about 6 exercises that targeted our arms. I had to put down my 3 lb weight and pick up my 2 lb weights half way through. There were no breaks during the arm exercises, it was just continuous. We then moved to the bar for the thigh leg workout. A lot of these moves were very similar to Bar Method here but they were just more extreme and I felt like we did 10000 reps. I was concentrating SO hard and was sweating my ass off.

We then moved on to glutes which kept us standing at the bar and again the moves were similar to Bar but just hyped up a bit more. After that, we moved to the ab portion which included working our lower abs with our back pressed against the wall to then having our legs in the air for a series of static holds while in the V-position. Hardcore. At one point during the ab exercise the instructor shouted out to me, “Stephanie, release!” I am not entirely sure how she remembered my name but naturally my friends made fun of me for the rest of the day.

The best part of the class was definitely the music which was pumped nice and loud. I didn’t really enjoy being down in the basement. The room was kind of dark and it lowered my energy level from the moment I walked in. I’d definitely be interested to take this class again but Bar Method is still my favorite type of these muscle-isolation classes.

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: The last 4 episodes of Downtown Abbey Season 1 on my couch.
Monday’s meals highlights: Nothing to report
Tuesday’s workout: 3 mile treadmill run
Tuesday’s meals highlights: Egg white omelet with cheese topped with mango & black bean salsa

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

