New Old Sneakers

Posted on March 1, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I bought new sneakers a little while ago – Brooks Ravenna 2 stability sneakers. I wore them for a few runs and did not like them at all.  My toes on my left foot started to go numb in the middle of any run.  I convinced myself for some reason that I needed the stability sneakers even though I had been running in the minimalist shoes for the past several months.  Needless to say, it was a shock to my feet and legs when I changed over.  The Ravenna 2’s did not last long, I quit wearing them and plotted on how I could take them back.  I went to City Sports told them my story and thought it was a long shot since I had worn the shoes at least 5 times, but they said they’d take them back and give me store credit!   It’s a good thing too, because I was going to threaten to blog about my experience!

I didn’t buy new shoes right away, I kept running with my Nike Free’s, they were doing the job for the most part. I was experiencing a lot of knee pain, but I chalked that up to the extra miles I had been doing.   Finally, this past weekend, I got some advice at a running store and knew I needed new shoes, whether it be to replace the Nike Free sneakers or buy a whole new brand. I didn’t want to buy the shoes at this store, but trusted their advice.  I couldn’t justify not using the credit I already had!

I decided on the newest version of Nike Free +2. I didn’t think there was any reason to change up what had already really been working for me.   I almost bought this version.

But I decided on the more conservative pair and got these:


I absolutely love them. I went for my first run on Tuesday night and I had NO knee pain at all!  I definitely think the new shoes had something to do with it, I also think I’ve been stretching and foam rolling appropriately. I also got a massage on Sunday after my 8 mile run, so I feel like that also helped.  I was ecstatic and feel like I had the best run of my life on Tuesday. I woke up this am and went for another 5 mile run.  It was good, but my legs were a little fatigued. I didn’t feel any knee pain until mile 4.5, but I think that’s just because my whole body was just ready to be done.

Today is a beautiful, warm, sunny day and the beginning of March, which is exciting for many reasons.

One – getting to admire a new Snow & Graham design for the next month.

Two, March is also full of three very important birthdays.  Our very own Stephanie has a birthday this month, TK’s birthday is tomorrow and my sister, Tracy’s birthday is at the end of the month!  I love their birthday month!!!

Three, there is a work trip coming up that has been taking over my life for the past few months and it’ll be over in about a week and a half!

And four, the half marathon is this month!!

Happy Thursday all!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

