Bring Me All the Amenities

Posted on February 28, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

So, first there was some of this last night.

I use my sneakers for sneaking.

And then there was some of this.

Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.

It’s true. Triathlon training has begun!

I belong to a nice gym that is pretty expensive but directly across the street from my apartment. I’m paying for convenience. True story. I pretty much use my gym to attend classes and use the treadmill. Well last night I finally used the pool and realized I’ve been missing out on some pretty nice amenities. Let’s start with the pool experience though.

My gym has two small pools that have a current you swim against. It was really weird to use it for the first time and I had to adjust the current 4 times before getting it to the right strength (not sure that’s the right word there but you get the idea). I had 30 minutes of swimming on my training plan for the night and let me tell you…it was BORING. I had been swimming for what felt like forever and I looked up at the clock and only 10 minutes had gone by! I couldn’t do a workout. I couldn’t count laps. There were no flip turns to spice things up. I ended up counting my strokes which was lame. I counted 300 freestyle strokes and then 100 breast-strokes and then repeated. I made it to 25 minutes before getting a super painful foot cramp. I had to stop. I just couldn’t complete the last 5 minutes of the workout in that pain.

Right after I swam I used the suit dryer in the locker room (awesome!!) and took a shower. Yes, I know, I live not even a block away but it was super easy to take a shower right there, change into what became my PJs (t-shirt and sweatpants) and go home to make some dinner. The shower felt very spa-like with the products I used and it was nice to go home all clean. I also have my eye on the sauna which was very popular last night. Why on earth haven’t I used it yet? I need to get my money’s worth!

Before I swam, I ran for 30 minutes on the treadmill at a 10:00 minute mile pace. I took it easy. Treadmill running is always so hard for the first 10 minutes and then once I get warmed up and going, I feel like I could have run forever.

I’ll be honest, I feel proud that I completed the entire workout on day 1 of the triathlon training program. It’s going to be tricky to balance it with the Cherry Blossom training, as I still need to keep my running mileage up. I’m aiming for a run tonight and tomorrow and some biking thrown in there as well. We’ll see how that all shakes out.

My dinner was pretty boring last night but I am trying to introduce Greek yogurt back into my diet. Good thing my co-worker had some granola for me to add on this morning. I am just NOT a yogurt person. I need to admit it and move on with my life. Just saying.

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: 30 minute treadmill run + 25 minute swim
Monday’s meals highlights: The discovery of the microwaved sweet potato with black bean & mango salsa on top.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

