So Not Center Stage

Posted on February 14, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I went back into another world last night. A world I haven’t been in for a very long time. Where did I go?

To a ballet class!

I must have been 6 or 7 when I took my first dance class (actually, maybe even younger than that) and totally loved it. Ballet was always my main focus but I also dabbled in tap, jazz, character and partner. Yes, dabbled.

This is me.

Except it’s not me, at all. Not even a little. Maybe in another life. After dancing for 12 years, I decided I enjoyed field hockey, lacrosse and other sports better and didn’t see myself joining a dance company. Instead of dancing 6 days a week, I focused on playing sports and I think it worked out well for me.

But I will always have a love of dance.

When I first moved to D.C. I signed up for a ballet class with a friend. Every Monday, we showed up in our tights and escaped away for 90 minutes. It was splendid. But it didn’t happen again after that first class. I’ve made it to one hip hop class since then but know that I want to work dance back into my life when I can.

Two years ago (yup, that long) my best friend gave me a gift card to a dance studio in the area and I’ve been sitting on it until last night. I ventured out to one of their locations and took their intermediate ballet class.

Holy workout!

I forgot what it was like to take an actual dance class. I have to admit, I wasn’t feeling my most confident (even though, by some miracle my leotard fit and I did get to wear legwarmers the entire time) but by the end of class I was definitely feeling better. All of the women were extremely nice and welcoming and the instructor was really great. I introduced myself to her and told her that it had been an embarrassingly long time since I had taken a dance class (just warning her in case she had to call and ambulance). She just smiled.

At the end of class, the instructor exclaimed, “I’m surprised you made it through the whole thing after you told me you hadn’t danced in a long time!”

I’m just gonna go ahead and take that as a compliment.

So I didn’t use my rest day, instead I worked out twice. Whoops. Today is definitely a rest day after not waking up at 6am to run and having dinner plans tonight. Yes I’m following a training plan, but I can still do whatever I want 🙂

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: VIDA RX (what my gym calls Body Pump) + 90 Minute Ballet Class
Monday’s meals highlights: I made Lisa’s spicy tuna sandwich for lunch – delicious!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

