Toffuti, where are you when I need you?

Posted on February 2, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Have you guys ever seen Overboard? It’s one of the best movies ever and the title of this post is a quote – spoken into a conk shell – from that movie. “A bug just flew into my mouth” – another gem. Anyway.

I learned an important lesson Tuesday night: I do not like to touch tofu, I only like to eat it at restaurants. So, I love Reuben sandwiches. Like a lot. And when I found a Spicy Tofu Reuben recipe in the Flexitarian book, I jumped for joy. I had never cooked with tofu before and tend to enjoy it sparingly when out and about, like I did at ShopHouse last week.

I purchased extra-firm tofu and prepped it Tuesday night so I could have a Spicy Tofu Reuben for lunch Wednesday. I pressed the extra moisture out of two slices of tofu and then cooked them in a pan until golden brown on each side. I also managed to splash myself with hot oil during the process. Win! Getting the tofu out of the package and slicing it was pretty gross. The consistency was creeping me out and it was very slimy. But I digress…

While the tofu was browning, I put some sauerkraut in a container and whipped up a homemade Russian dressing with ketchup, Spectrum mayonnaise, sweet relish and some hot sauce. Add a slice of swiss cheese and two pieces of whole grain bread and you’ve got yourself a Spicy Tofu Reuben.

I warmed it all up in the toaster oven at work and it looks pretty good when all assembled. Overall, the sandwich was OK. It wasn’t horrible but it wasn’t delicious and it’s not even the fact that it was missing the corned beef, it was simply that I just don’t like tofu that much. I sliced the second chunk a little too big and the half a sandwich that had the thinner slice was definitely better. Now, don’t get me wrong, I ate the entire thing – along with a pear and a bag of Baked Lays – because I was hungry. All the flavors of the Reuben were there too so it wasn’t a total loss.

My biggest problem now is using the rest of the huge block of tofu in the next two days before it goes bad. I’m going to be honest, I’m not sure that’s going to happen. I think I might try to chop some of it up and make a curried stir fry with it and some veggies. Who knows if that will work out though. I also thought about picking up some eggs tonight and making a scramble with nutritional yeast. Eh. I really hate to waste food but I really don’t feel too confident about the rest of this tofu being used.

So my lesson has been learned. I will go back to ordering tofu on occasion when I’m at a restaurant but I don’t think it will be finding itself back in my kitchen any time soon.

Addy and I went running last night and she is FAST. She totally pushed me to run a sub-9:00 minute mile for the first two miles, which was definitely something new for me. I asked her to slow down for the rest of the run and thank goodness or I would not have made it up the big hill at the end. That’s when you know you have a good running buddy, when they push you…but are also willing to listen to you. Love it!

Neon, sweaty, elevator picture!

Stats.

Stephanie

Wednesday’s workout: 3.75 run with Addy
Wednesday’s meals highlight: The Spicy Tofu Reuben…just kidding.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

