Random Thoughts

Posted on February 1, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

When I got back from my run last night, I told Justin my average per mile and he laughed at me.

His response, wow, I mean, I guess you are fast, but that’s kind of a huge improvement.  I don’t necessarily disagree with him. I’m not convinced I’m this fast either!  I also start to think about how these short runs are great and all, but can I really keep this up for 8+ miles and then eventually 13.1…I guess we’ll find out!

I am in the middle of Michael Pollan’s Food Rules, courtesy of my sister.  She gave us the version illustrated by Maira Kalman, and it’s beautiful!   Pollan is the author of the Omnivore’s Dilemma, which I have not read, but he is also the owner of  Polyface Farms.   Justin had previously sent the link to the farm to me and said we should go there and buy meat!  It’s several hours from D.C., but I think it would be a fun trip.  Back to Food Rules, I totally appreciate the idea that you need to think about what you are eating and don’t continually put over processed food in your body.  I’m on rule number 57 of 83 rules. I found myself last night looking at the ingredients of a lot of items in my pantry and fridge.  I would say we are about 50/50 in compliance with the rules of the book.  I also appreciate the idea that you don’t necessarily have to live your whole life by these rules, but they are good, general rules to think about.

I haven’t yet paged through this catalog, probably a good thing as I will want to buy everything in it for spring!  And it’s easy to think about spring now, because it’s been in the high 60’s the past two days here!


I’m off to run the mall with Stephanie!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Random Thoughts”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Damn girl!! You are fast. Maybe you can be my post-pregnancy trainer?

I’d love to be, I’ll just move out to Montana and we can train together, that would be perfect!!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

