Summing Up

Posted on January 30, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

On Friday night, I ended up back at Lost Society to celebrate a friend’s birthday. After endless truffled potato chips, I had the scallops and they were absolutely delicious. They were nice and plump and cooked perfectly. Yes, I just described them as plump. I shared the roasted brussel sprouts with my friend and it was the perfect amount of food. We ordered three desserts to share amongst the table – and we needed something with a birthday candle it in 🙂 The desserts were pretty good but nothing outstanding.

I think I’ve had my fill of Lost Society for awhile and will definitely be looking to try some new places next time I go out to dinner.

On Saturday, I went to a Grey DC market for the first time. I had heard great things about their underground markets and wanted to check out the scene. The market was north of Columbia Heights from 1-4pm. I arrived with two friends around 1:45pm and there was a HUGE line to get in.

Oh hey huge line.

We patiently waited and finally made it down into the basement and I have to say I was really disappointed with the event. There were not as many vendors as I had expected (they has listed a ton of them on their website prior to the event) and it was so jam-packed you could barely move around. Plus, the vendors that were there could barely get out the samples in time for people to try their products.

My friend really wanted a bahn mi from a popular vendor. We waited in a very long line and got up to the table and were told that they were making more sandwiches in their truck but were running out. The woman pointed to a huge stack of papers and said that those people had paid and were the first in line to get sandwiches and then if they had any more they would start selling again.

Bahn Mi fail.

My friend was disappointed so we high-tailed it out of there and went to Pho 14 in Columbia Heights where both of my friends enjoyed delicious bahn mi’s and I had a steaming bowl of vegetable pho. Man, it was good and totally hit the spot. I was so glad to have finally tried Pho 14 as it’s rumored to have the best Pho is the city.

I ended my weekend with some more Bar Method, some coaching and finally my “long run” for the week. I managed to run 4 of the 5 workouts that were scheduled this week and I feel very proud of that. It was my first week back to running and while I did do the lower mileage, I felt good and feel like I’m already starting to get into a running groove. Sunday’s workout called for 4-7 miles and I did 4 🙂

I didn’t have a route planned out for this event so it was a little rocky. I do much better when I have a planned route and don’t have to keep looking at my phone to see the mileage and pace. And then I totally had a moment where I understood what Ali goes through on some of her runs because my stomach was NOT happy with me. The kind people at Casa Nonna let me into their restaurant in my sweaty running gear – thank you!

After finally cooling down, I decided that Sunday night was the perfect time for me to satisfy my burger craving. I made my way to Shake Shack – which I believe has the best burger in the city – and was greeted by a sign indicating that they were out of burgers. Yes, a burger joint OUT OF BURGERS. Maybe this was a divine sign that I should be home eating a healthier dinner. Did I do that? Nope, I went across the street and had Pinkberry for dinner.

Pinkberry for dinner...normal

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Day of rest
Friday’s meals highlight: Scallops
Saturday’s workout: Bar Method
Saturday’s meals highlight: Nada
Sunday’s workout: Bar Method + 4 mile run
Sunday’s meals highlight: Sunrise Sandwich from Whole Foods…whole wheat bread, tomato, lettuce, cheese, avacado, red onion and some type of sauce. I am making my own version for lunch today!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

