If You’re Superstitious and You Know It Clap Your Hands (clap, clap)

Posted on January 30, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I wouldn’t necessarily say I’m a superstitious person when it comes to sports but I do have my quirks. When I play tennis, I need to hold my racket a certain way and usually roll it through my hands at least twice before serving. When I watch Yankee games, I either wear my hat the entire game, or don’t. There is no putting the hat on or taking the hat off, etc. When I played field hockey in high school I had a stick handshake that HAD to be done with my co-captain before every game. And now that the Giants are in the Superbowl I’m finding myself acting like a superstitious fool.

Instead of going to a friend’s annual Superbowl party, I will be heading back to the Giants bar where I watched the NFC Championship game. I will be wearing the exact same outfit I’ve worn for the past two games…right down to the undergarments (TMI? Too late.) and my lucky socks. I’ve been thinking about standing in the same spot but I do really want to get a table for the big game. We’ll see…

Let’s take a look at a few sports superstitions that I found:

– Brian Urlacher: Chocolate chip cookies.Brian Urlacher chows down on a pair of chocolate chip cookies before each game. Never more than two, never less.

– Tiger Woods: Red on Sundays. Why does Woods wear red on Sundays? According to an interview Woods did with David Letterman, he wears the color because of his mother. Momma Tiger told him at a young age that as a Capricorn, his power would be highest when he wore the color, so he saves it for when he needs it.

– Wade Boggs: Chicken. During his 1982 rookie year, Boggs noticed that on days when he ate chicken before a game, he played well. So, from that point on, all Boggs ate before games was chicken.

– Wayne Gretzky: Baby Powder. He had to cover the blade of his stick in baby powder. HAD TO.

There are also general superstitions like the rally cap, the playoff beard and many, many others. I’d be dis-honest if I didn’t admit that I’m very nervous about Sunday’s game. I’m looking forward to a great day of drink special, half-priced food, friends and hopefully another Championship. Fingers crossed!

Oh hey, Tom. Just arriving to kick your ass on Sunday.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

