The Freakin Weekend

Posted on January 29, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Well, lunch at District Commons did not happen for us.  We ended up at Circa in Foggy Bottom instead.  I never looked closely enough at the website to find out that they don’t serve lunch on Saturdays!  Oops, I just discovered that right now upon further review.  We’ll have to try it another time!

I would have to say the company of our guests at Circa was way better than the meal.  Justin and I both had the breakfast burrito, which was smaller than I expected (not a bad thing necessarily, but I wanted something a little heartier). Overall, it was kind of boring.  The chicken sausage was fine and the eggs fluffy, but it was nothing spectacular.  It was really nice catching up with our friends over a nice long Saturday brunch.

After lunch/brunch, we headed to Georgetown to return a few things at Athleta and Lululemon and on our way back to the car, we hit up Pinkberry. I had never been before so it was really fun to try!

I got the original yogurt with crunchy peanut butter sauce and a waffle cookie. I also added coconut in there, because I felt like I needed one more topping.  I definitely didn’t need it.  Look forward to going back and trying more flavors!

We got in an Oscar movie last night with Moneyball.  Great story, great acting, fun movie – glad we watched!  Can’t wait to check more Oscar movies in the coming weeks.

This morning, I set out for a 6 mile run to Eastern Market where I was meeting my sister and fam.  Sunday morning in D.C. is so lovely.  The streets are nice and quiet and it’s so peaceful running through the city.  I started off the first mile downhill and it was dreamy!  The rest of the run was pretty flat and I held a pretty steady pace. By mile 5.5 I was ready to be done, but I stuck it out (slowly).  Upon finishing I ate some cliff shot blocks to keep up my energy and promptly got a chai latte.

I met up with the group and we proceeded to shop for endless amounts of sausages for dinner, some pickles, nuts and donuts for lunch and then some jewelry for gifts.  My nephew really wanted to buy something for his mom.  He said “She has just been so great to me, I want to buy her something!”  Really the sweetest thing ever, we picked out a very lovely silver bird necklace that she had been eyeing earlier that morning.  She loved it and he was so happy about his gift all day!

For dinner tonight, we met back up with the fam and headed to their house for dinner.  My brother in law grilled up the 10+ different flavors of sausage that we bought earlier.  The sausages ranged from chicken and artichoke sausage to half smokes (mild and hot) to chorizo to rabbit sausage to venison and boar sausages.  The choices were endless and the tastes eclectic.

Fresh off the Grill

I sampled the chorizo (spicy), the hot italian sausage (also spicy, but not as tasty), the mild half smoke (seemed to be the overall fave of the night) and the chicken sausage with artichoke (didn’t love).  It was fun to have a smorgasboard of sausages to taste for dinner and I think I want to go back for more half smokes like right now.

Justin and I are currently sitting on the couch in sausage food comas.  Getting ready to start off another busy week at work!

One more week of half marathon training down, seven more to go.

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “The Freakin Weekend”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

HAha I heart Sausage food coma!!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

