Icy Run

Posted on January 22, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

We woke up to snow in D.C. on Saturday morning, I went to my usual TRX class so I didn’t have to worry about running outside.  Today I had a 5 mile run on the schedule and knew that I would have to compete with some icy spots on my route.  After having a lazy morning due to a late night with wine, food and great friends, I finally set out for my run around 1 p.m.

I ran the same route last weekend, so I was on autopilot and just ready to get the run done.  The sidewalks were fine, not great.  I ran to the Capital Crescent Trail to Bethesda and saw a total of 3 people on the trail.  The trail was initially pretty clear, but as I got closer to Bethesda more and more of the trail was covered in ice.  It straight up sucked!  I was so happy when I got off the trail back to the regular sidewalks.  Overall, the run was fine – I didn’t keep every mile under 10 minutes, I think that was partly because I was taking it easy on the ice.  Next week I’m up to 6 miles.  I’m looking forward to it!

Justin and I have been obsessing over Homeland for the past week.  We just finished the last episode of Season 1 this afternoon.  Like any good show, I cannot wait for Season 2.  I am also a little depressed that it’s over. Its always a conundrum, do you save episodes to make it last longer or is it so addicting that you NEED to know what happens??  What I do know is that I need more Claire Danes and Damian Lewis in my life like right now!

I made macaroni and cheese tonight from Gina’s recipe.  I didn’t use reduced fat cheese, but I did use whole wheat pasta, so we’ll call it even.  I didn’t take a picture of it, but I can tell you, it didn’t look like the pictures from her site.   The baby spinach was a really nice addition, but the flavor was just ok, I had to add a lot of salt. Justin insists that if I had made it with sharp cheddar and not mild, that it would have been so much better.  I will definitely try that next time.

Addy

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

