Running is Hard

Posted on January 17, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’m into week 4 of my 12 week half marathon training program.  I have to admit, I really am enjoying running, but I’m also realizing how hard it is!  I mean, everybody can run, right?  Sure, but I feel like there are certain techniques (that I know nothing about) you really have to obtain to go the longer distances.  I’m starting to feel pain in my knee when I run, I can’t tell if it’s from my shoes or just doing the longer distances.  I’m not sure running a half marathon merits getting a running coach, but I would consider it if I ever wanted to run further.

I’m getting a little better with the consistent splits per mile.  On Sunday I went for 5 miles. My average pace per mile turned out to be 9:44 (according to the Garmin, which I trust…).  I was psyched to have done every mile under 10 minutes, woo!  Unfortunately, after a challenging time with the Mac and the Garmin website, I am still having problems getting the software on my computer, so no fun graphs yet!

Pre 5 miles

My knee didn’t hurt during the 5 miles at all, it was just the next day when I ran 3 miles that the shooting pain started.  Justin chalks it up to me getting old, I still think it might be the sneakers.  Either way, if it continues, I’ll see a doctor, but for now I’m just hoping it goes away!

The two runs I did this weekend were on the Capital Crescent Trail, and I forgot how great it is to run where there are no cars whizzing by you.  I don’t typically run with headphones, I generally like to know what is going on around me, so being in the semi peaceful space of a running trail has been very relaxing.

And a little carbo loading photo for you.  I actually ate this meal after the run on Sunday…maybe I just needed to replenish.  Pasta with spicy meatballs from Whole Foods, fresh tomatoes and green beans.  Very tasty!

Pasta goodness

I think I might re-create this meal right now for dinner!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

