I Heart Philly

Posted on January 17, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I was in Philly for a total of 15 hours and it was such a great trip. I can’t wait to go back! First of all, Amtrak is really amazing…if only they would lower their prices! I always try to and book the cheap $49 one-way tickets or use my AAA card discount but I remember when prices were MUCH lower than they are now. Man, I sound old. Secondly, I love my new Kindle Fire. I watched a movie on the way to Philly and read my book on the way back and only had to carry one little device. It is a new day, my friends.

After arriving at the 30th Street Station I took a quick (and very cheap – damn you D.C. cabs!) cab ride to Meg’s apartment. She lives in the cutest studio ever. I loved it! We went straight back into the cold to get some dinner and went to a delicious restaurant called Twenty Manning. I did a horrible job of taking photos and only have two dark ones to share but I’m sharing them anyway. The restaurant had a really cool vibe and was packed.

We started off with some crusty bread that really hit the spot and a bowl of marinated olives. Meg and I both have some Middle Eastern blood in us and love us some olives. I was craving a burger and ended up getting the bison burger because it’s such a lean meat and I knew it would hit the spot. Meg got the tuna burger (she’s a vegetarian) and both burgers came on these wooden cutting boards with a MOUNTAIN of fries next to them. Thin, shoestring fries that were salted to perfection. So good. I just kept eating and eating and eating because everything was so delicious.

Dark bowl of olives

Bison burger with a mountain of fries.

I also really liked the service at the restaurant. Our waiter took great care of us but wasn’t intrusive at all while we were deep in conversation. It was perfect. Meg’s parents were also in town and were trying to cajole us to come out for a round of drinks but we thought PJs and ice cream back at her place sounded better.

For brunch the next morning we went to Day by Day where we shared an omelet, oatmeal raisin pancakes and turkey sausage. Another stellar meal and the perfect send off for me before I hopped the train back to D.C. The visit was very short but it’s nice to know that I can hop on a train and get to Meg in two hours. She has two more years of law school and I plan on making that trip a lot more often. There is just something so special about a friendship you’ve had for so long. I met Meg when I was 10 and we’ve been friends ever since. We’ve never lived in the same place since graduating from high school but still manage to stay in touch and make plenty of visits. I’m so grateful to have her as a friend.

I may not like Philly sports teams…but I have some love for the city for sure.

Stephanie

Friday’s meals highlight: Bison burger at Twenty Manning
Saturday’s workout: Day of rest
Saturday’s meals highlights: Oatmeal raising pancakes at Day by Day
Sunday’s workout: Bar Method
Sunday’s meals highlights: Beer for dinner 🙂
Monday’s workout: Laziness
Monday’s meals highlights: Oh She Glows Roasted Tomato, Garlic, Onion and Coconut Soup (more on that later)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

