RW + Lost Society + Friends

Posted on January 13, 2012. Filed under: Food, Uncategorized |

It’s Restaurant Week here in D.C. and while I used to participate a lot, I haven’t the past few years until last night. When I first moved here I did RW the right way by going to a super fancy restaurant I would not be able to afford normally. That way I was really getting my money’s worth. However, as time went by and groups of people changed, it never seemed to work out to be a good deal and just felt like another expensive night. However, last night I went to Lost Society, participated in RW with a bunch of old friends and we had a really great time.

Addy was there too so get ready for a double-dinner recap 🙂

Before dinner, Addy and I went to Blackbyrd for a quick drink. It’s a really cool place and people all around us were slurping up oysters and I was greedily eying them. I will have to go back for the raw bar for sure! I had a Bell’s Lager and it totally hit the spot and then we headed to dinner.

Happy Hour

Lost Society was a trendy place that we decided had an urban hipster scene. The decor was funky and it was two levels. We were seated in an area that had a bar so it was definitely noisy but it was a fun, lively scene. The best part of the meal was the truffled chips they give you to snack. I probably ate way too many of those and filled up on them. But they were so amazing. Why does truffle oil make everything taste so much better? I need to get some for my kitchen. They just kept bringing the chips out to us, I swear.

Five out of six of us decided to do RW. I started with the roasted beet and goat cheese salad and it was DELICIOUS. It was the perfect amount of food with both red and golden beets. Plus the goat cheese was whipped. If only I had remembered to take a picture.

For my entree I had a pasta dish. Lost Society is known for their steak but I honestly just wasn’t in the mood. Maybe it’s the new Flexitarian in me? 🙂 My pasta dish was delicious but very rich. It had hedgehog mushrooms, jicama and pesto. I usually never order pasta when I go out but it totally hit the spot.

Pasta

And finally for dessert, I had the butterscotch chocolate chip cookie sandwich and honestly it was a huge disappointment. I ended up eating one of them but they were so hard to handle and the cookies were just blah. There wasn’t a big butterscotch taste and there was a TON of cinnamon on them. I was definitely disappointed by dessert. Again, I usually don’t order dessert when I got out so I guess this is what I deserve…

Meh

Overall, it was a great night. I love catching up with friends I haven’t seen in awhile. I walked home because it was a beautiful night and because I was SO full of food. I actually felt uncomfortable full because I normally just don’t eat that much food! The Flextarian Diet has me eating smaller meals and I’m enjoying it but that meal last night was a lot. It’s nice to go out and splurge every once in awhile though.

I went to Bar this morning with my co-worker because I’m heading to Philly after work for the night. So excited to see my best friend and spend some QT with her. I will definitely need a meat day to enjoy a ooey, gooey, Philly Cheesesteak.

Stephanie

Thursday’s workout: Day of rest
Thursday’s meals highlight: Restaurant Week at Lost Society

Friday’s workout: Bar Method
Friday’s meals highlight: TBD

Thurday's lunch: Tortillas, black beans, no-salt added corn, salsa and 1/4 avacado

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

