Finally Friday

Posted on January 13, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

As Stephanie said, we visited Lost Society for dinner last evening. I initially poo-pooed Restaurant Week when our one friend suggested we go to dinner for the occasion, sometimes the quality of the food isn’t as great on the RW menu and it’s not always worth the money.  I was a bit of a hypocrite and actually took advantage of the RW menu last night.  Overall it was tasty and I would absolutely go back and try it again, if for nothing else because those truffle potato chips are amazing.  See below, we almost didn’t snap the picture quickly enough before they were all gone.  This also might have been our 3rd helping.

Almost Empty

I also started with the beet salad. I discovered fairly recently that beets are so tasty. I especially love when you come across golden yellow beets.  This salad was a combination of both with the amazing goat cheese mousse.

For my entree I had the olive oil confit cornish game hen.  I’m not really sure what the orange puree was – possibly butternut squash.  In any event, I liked it.  It was nice and light, but flavorful.  The skin was nice and crispy too.

As soon as the entrees arrived, I took one look and thought maybe this wasn’t going to be enough food. So I admitted to my friend next to me that I had my eye on the mac & cheese and I was going to order it and would he eat some.  He dutifully said, of course!   With no shame (ok, maybe a little), I asked the waitress for a side of the mac & cheese.

No regrets

I absolutely am glad I tried it, it was rich and a tad bit oily, the top was nice and crunchy. Although, I’m not hard to please when you have any cheese combined with any pasta.  I look forward to ordering it again!

I had the same dessert as Stephanie and agree, it was not anything fabulous.  The ice cream was good in the middle, but the cookies were hard – so in order to eat it, you had to eat the ice cream first and then take bites of the cookies.

Aside from all the tasty food, getting together with friends for dinner was really nice.  We all worked closely together for at least 2+ years and now we are at other jobs (all still in D.C.), so it’s always nice to come back together and catch up on what has been happening since the last time we saw each other.

Looking forward to a long weekend, hanging around D.C.  Looking forward to spending a few of the gift cards we got from the holiday!

Addy

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

