Murder was the Case

Posted on January 9, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’m back fresh off a murder mystery in the mountains of West Virginia.  As I mentioned before, we went to West Virginia for a friend’s 30th birthday celebration.  We stayed for one night at the Guest House at Lost River.  It’s a lovely place, hidden in the woods/mountains of WV.   Our group consisted of 15 people and we were the only people at the guest house for the night. The rooms don’t have keys available and upon check-in, the guy looked at me and said, at least you can’t get locked out!  True, but then Justin and I thought we were on our way to having a real murder mystery.

Here is the re-cap everybody has been waiting for.  The theme of the mystery was “Killing for the Crown.”  Each participant knew their character beforehand and had background on them.   I played Miss Amy Arizona – the beauty queen determined to win at all costs.  Sashes were made:

Once the mystery began, everybody was given a new sheet of paper with their objectives for the “first round.”  This included who you should talk to, a few questions to ask people, etc.  Once it was determined that everybody finished their objectives, the scene ended with a toast AND a murder!  Miss Tina Texas was murdered at the end of the round.   Justin played Miss Texas’ dad and did a darn good job at grieving for her.  We began the next scene with another new sheet of paper with more objectives on how to figure out ‘whodunit.’   There were many different story lines going on among the beauty queens/judges/dads/private investigator.  For example, Miss Idaho was a stripper and she was worried that her secret might ruin her chance of winning the crown. I was determined to not let my secret get out…that I was bribing Judge Julie!

After everybody completed their tasks for the second round, more evidence was given to the group in order to decide who was the killer!

Turns out I had more than one secret to protect – I was also the murderer!  Only one person guessed it was me.  He figured it out by the evidence.  The murder weapon was poison laced breath mints. The mints were manufactured in Arizona.  Only one person caught on to that looking at the evidence.  I think I win for nobody figuring it out from my character!  Truth be told, when it came time to guess the murderer, for some reason I didn’t guess myself.   I think I thought I still had to lie at all costs!

The murder mystery was a huge success and a ton of fun!  I didn’t expect that at all (sorry G!), but it was entertaining and everybody took it very seriously.

Later on that evening we had dinner, consumed a lot of red wine and had a fab time. It was a fantastic group of people there for the weekend and I’m really glad I got to meet some really great new folks!

We got back to town on Sunday afternoon and I wanted to head out for my 4 mile run right away.  I knew if I didn’t get out there, it would be a real struggle later on.  The run was two-fold. I convinced Justin that he should pick me up in Bethesda and we could shop for new sneakers!  He agreed to it and I set out on my run and told him I’d see him in about 40+ minutes.

I knew my Garmin was low on battery life, but I took it with me anyway.  As I was running down River Road, I was cursing the TRX class from the day before.  My legs felt very heavy and took a while for me to warm up.   When my Garmin beeped at me for the first mile, it told me that my pace was 8:06/mile.  I laughed, like literally laughed out loud.  Part of me was thinking – damn I am fast!  But then the more rational side of me thought – I feel like crap, there is no way I just ran the fastest mile of my LIFE.   Sweet, sweet Garmin continued to make me feel like a million bucks with each mile, and I started to feel better too – but not 9:17/mile better.  I finished in what I think was about 38 minutes – much more my speed!

I met Justin at City Sports and we both found new shoes!  I have been running in my Nike Free sneakers and while I do love them, I haven’t wanted to go above 4 miles in them.  I bought a pair of Brooks (I’ll take a picture tonight) and I’m excited to try them out this evening…possibly in the snow, but more likely on the treadmill.  I’ll continue to wear the Nike Free shoes to the gym for classes, etc, but the Brooks will step in for my half marathon training shoe!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

