Monday, Monday, Monday

Posted on January 9, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I successfully went meatless 5 out of 7 days last week and I feel great! I had some pasta bolgonese on Monday and some homemade sausage pizza on Friday but other than that I stuck to the plan. I did have scallops on Sunday night but I am perfectly OK with adding fish into my diet at any time. While it’s only one week down on this new diet plan, I’m really enjoying all the new recipes and feel like this is truly a plan I could stick with long term. On to week 2!

I made a smoothie this morning using my new immersion blender (thanks, Mom!) and it was super easy. I blended Kefir, thawed mixed fruit, honey and vanilla extract and let me tell you, it was delicious. My new little smoothie cup was easy to carry to work and it took me almost 45 minutes to finish all of it. Let’s see if it keeps me full until lunch.

Morning smoothie

After introducing a friend to the intense thigh workout at Bar Method on Saturday, I ran some errands quickly with the help of the DC bus system. One thing I love about DC is that it’s a smaller city and it feels so accessible. I never thought I’d be a bus person but it’s so quick, cheap and easy and a great way to move around the city. Because I live in Logan Circle I’m a big fan on the Circulator to take me to Georgetown or up to Columbia Heights. I do have a car but try to keep it in a cozy spot on the street and use public transportation as much as possible. I also love that most places in DC are walking distance from my apartment, including the Phillips Collection. While I learned my lesson about going to an exhibit the day before it closes (hello, crowds!), I did love seeing the Degas collection. The highlight was actually the display of his personal art collection which included works by Cezanne and Manet.

My weekend included dinner with friends, a great workout, an art exhibit, celebrating a friend’s birthday and dinner with my Grandma and yet the highlight was the hours of laziness I spent on my couch watching Shameless on Showtime. I don’t have Showtime (I have the most basic cable ever) but they were doing a free preview weekend and I totally got consumed watching the first season of the series. I’ve made it through 8 episodes and am seriously considering either buying the first season on DVD or subscribing to Showtime so I can continue to watch the series (including the second season which just started). Hello, guilty pleasure. Sometimes you just need something to take your mind away and to relax. Thank you, Showtime.

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Day of rest
Friday’s meals highlight: Homemade pizza and wine with friends
Saturday’s workout: Bar Method
Saturday’s meals highlight: None
Sunday’s workout: Day of rest
Sunday’s meals highlight: Scallops at Wildfire

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

